Onboarding with Bitshares Part One: Getting them into Crypto

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Wallet, exchanges, centralized versus decentralized, thousands of cryptos, and not to mention all the new jargon and vocabulary.

There is a lot to crypto that can overwhelm or prevent new individuals, businesses ,and organizations from investing and being apart of the movement.

We need to be able to help and teach these individuals and parties in a way that they feel comfortable about cryptocurrency and financial trading in a way that they can keep doing it themselves without further assistance with the goal of them teaching crypto to others as well.

This is called onboarding.

Getting people, businesses, and organizations into the cryptocurrency world.

It is what I have been doing a lot of recently. With crypto going more mainstream, tens and tens of friends and family have contacted me asking questions and picking my brain.

It is something I am sure we are all experiencing. People asking for our help and advice on crypto.

This is how I have been doing it. The process below is what I have been teaching, talking, walking through, and spending hours with people doing. All to help them become financial stable and to help them reach their goals and dreams.

STEP ONE: Help familiarize them with cryptocurrency

The usual conversation is them talking about how they have seen the rises and gains in Bitcoin and know that they somehow want to be invested in cryptocurrency. Then they ask which cryptos that I believe in. I respond in the same manner to everyone of them:

"BTS, STEEM, and EOS."

And then they ask why. I go into the "Why?" answers below usually starting off with "Bitshares is not only a currency it is a decentralized exchange..."

Why BTS?

STEEM

Why EOS?

Everyone doesn't need to hear all the reasons every time so I usually tailor my reasons why to best fit the person, business, or organization I am talking to.

Then they create a Bitshares account. It is one place where you can purchase all three of these cryptos. This is definitely a huge benefit I have noticed when onboarding with Bitshares

chrome_2017-12-26_12-10-52.png

Some things I make sure to point out is to save and write down their password in numerous places and I personally use the Cloud Wallet sign-in because I have not witnessed any password bugs with this type of log-in like some experience with downloading the bin file.

Also, I tell them not to screenshot their passwords but actually write all the characters out. I had a friend who lost access to his Bitshares account right after he transferred some Ethereum in because he screenshot the password screen. The password screen only showed 48 characters instead of his full password. He is still trying to recover his account.

Also during this phase, I explain to them how the OPEN. cryptos works in Bitshares explaining to them that each OPEN.STEEM for example is backed 1:1 by real STEEM and how having a 1:1 backed by collateral is HUGE in crypto land.

I usually try and end this part of the conversation with the benefits of Bitshares as a decentralized exchange so that when they use the centralized exchange in the next step it is fresh in their minds.

STEP TWO: Help them get crypto from fiat in one of these centralized exchanges.

This usually incorporates them setting up a Coinbase account, buying Bitcoin or Ethereum from their bank account or debit/credit card.

I have noticed that even on these centralized exchange I need to slow down a really take it one step at a time to make sure their first crypto trading experience is a smooth one. First impressions play such a huge role.

They get so excited and press that buy button and then they see this for example

bitcoin-deposit-delays-1.jpg

"Whatttttt?!!! I have to wait that long before I can use that Bitcoin"

"Woah so I can't buy the BTS, STEEM, and EOS today?"

Just some of the responses I have seen from my friends and family during this phase of the onboarding.

And then I reiterate the nature of centralized exchanges such as Coinbase verses decentralized exchanges like Bitshares. This seems to help reiterate the importance and benefits of using Bitshares. They just wish they could get fiat in with Bitshares.

Don't we all :)

This concludes Part One of "Onboarding with Bitshares."

Hope this provides value so that you can help and teach others to get into cryptocurrrency as well spreading this awesome movement across the global.

Part Two coming soon.

Thank you for your time and attention. It means the world to me.

Image Sources:

Namaste

@chiefmappster



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

BTS is the way and it works, it's also dans creation :) and dan made steemit aswel, he created the whole thing. And he improves himself because you know what to do better and what not each time you create something ! And both BTS and Steem are genius, so imagine what EOS will be like! dan = the man! I swear! follow such people and all will be good ;) he's like the Elon musk of crypto

Amennnnnnnnnnnnnnnn you preach you the truth brother. You bet on the jockey not the horse :)

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

You're welcome appreciate you.

This has been very helpful!! Thanks I learned a lot from this.

I have a bitshares account, at the moment coinbase is not allowing any new people at the moment as they are overrun. So I am waiting on that. My aim is to use steem to get all other crypto with. Has I do not have the money to actually invest I feel this is the best way to generate it.

O heck yeah so glad to hear that. You're very welcome :)

That is an awesome strategy in my opinion as well. Sending you positive energy on your journey.

God bless

Namaste

Great job with Bitshares Dan and Stan!

Amennnnnnnnnn

Big tip for onboarding:

Because of high bitcoin transaction fees if you're going through coinbase it's a much better idea to encourage people to buy bitshares through litecoin. The transaction fees will be like 5% of what they'd otherwise be that way.

O heck yeah thank you for that tip. Appreciate you. I will implement that right away.

Namaste

I really like this article. it was very helpful! how about you check out my latest post on this webseries based on Cryptocurrency and comment what you think ? it'd mean a lot and we could benefit each other out of it

Appreciate you thank you.

God bless

Has anybody had any luck using the OpenLedger fiat portal?

I submitted documents a couple weeks ago for verification so that I could just go straight in and out of bitshares, but I haven't heard anything back.

No luck on my end either. Haven't heard of anyone who have gotten verified. Going to ask about it in the next Bitshares Hangout.

Your contribution cannot be approved yet. See the Utopian Rules. Please edit your contribution to reapply for approval.

  • You have two blog posts with the same title: "Onboarding with Bitshaeres".

Please edit your entries title to be more descriptive according with the specific topic in each one.

You may edit your post here, as shown below:

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Edited thank you for letting me know

Hey @chiefmappster I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you appreciate you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34