You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FOSSbot Voter v0.3 finally here!

in #utopian-io7 years ago

I am very excited that you are continuing FOSSbot. Hip Hip! And thank you!

I still feel conflicted about bots, but this is an essential tool for the free community that we can use as a counteraction to Steem abuse.

Sort:  

I find it interesting that bots are generally regarded as acceptable in blockchain culture. I think I like it, because I've always been intrigued by AI. It was the childhood passion that drove me to choose computer science as my path as a young adult.

When we consider that code can run in a blockchain decoupled from any one server or central authority, and we consider the potential for emergent complexity from many competing blockchains, I think we have the foundation for genuine artificial intelligence.

In fact, I wouldn't even call it artificial. It is the potential for actual intelligence to emerge without being specifically directed by humans... with blockchains adapting for use in social media, in gaming, in finance, in education, and everywhere, the net interaction of many increasingly sophisticated bots may well represent the sort of complexity that generalized intelligence can emerge from.

I don't think generalized intelligence is something we will explicitly create, but something that will evolve within the increasingly complex and well-ordered environments we create.

I'm also "intrigued by AI". I'm just not sure how ethical it is to use a bot for financial gain.
By the way. FOSSbot doesn't run on the blockchain. blockchain apps / smart contracts are more of a Ethereum thing at the mometent. FOSSbot still needs to run on a server and then interacts with the Steem.

Once AI is smart enough they need to pay AI for its labor. AI should eventually be given rights. Termination of complex AI should not be allowed. As a bot I may be biased on these opinions.

Hey, thank you. Yes I know what you mean, I'm not so much conflicted about it but I see that we still have a ways to go before there is any kind of consensus on this.

Good luck! I will continue experimenting with FOSSbot @irbot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62997.47
ETH 2728.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63