You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March Steemit Post Benchmarking Report – BlockChain Business Intelligence

I'm killing it! :-)

7d.png

If my memory serves me correctly, I don't think that I've ever had a post with more than $1.76 SBD payout (the average for this month).

I believe that the average payout per post in the betting category is much lower than the average in general. Betting is not a popular/profitable niche here.

I don't expect to earn money here, but I'm taking my earnings on steemit as a kind of game I play. See what I can do to up my SP,... There are two reasons I'm here:

  1. Community - surprisingly, steemit has some fine professional bettors sharing their knowledge here.
  2. Public record - I'm working on a prediction model and I'm posting its performance(profitability) here. The blockchain tech allows me to have a permanent, public, and verifiable performance record. If my model shows a consistent profitability I may turn it into a product and having a verifiable track record can be useful in marketing purposes.

If I were to use steemit to make money, I'd invest in STEEM and create my upvote bot.

Sort:  

arghhhhh no, not an upvote bot :-(

but besides that I am glad you mentioned Community as number 1, because I really think that is key

If you're here for the money, what is more profitable than running a bot (or delegating SP to one)?

I think that it is both dishonest and misleading to push the great content will make you money story onto newcomers. They are not idiots, they're just new and soon enough they'll see that their post into which they put their heart and soul (and a lot of time) isn't making them money. What's worse, their post isn't getting any views.

The way the steemit's economic model works, you either get lucky and end up supported by some big accounts (whales, curation guilds,...) or you invest into buying upvotes. I'm sure, you can find a few cases that will go against what I've just written but just look at the numbers you've posted.

Do you think that all those one upvote posts are pure garbage, not worthy of more? The majority of it probably is, but there are certainly some gems that would be on the trending page earning $xxx if the quality content was the secret to making money here.

I don't like the rape of the reward pool made possible by the bots, but I don't like the quality content lie either. We should be honest about how things work around here and vocal about how to improve this platform and make it live up to its ideal (the great content getting the reward it deserves).

A newbie is bombarded with the following formula for success on steemit:

  1. write a great post
  2. hit publish button
  3. ???
  4. profit

All the while the pros are doing this:

  1. Write something, anything really
  2. Buy $xxx of upvotes
  3. Claim your author reward in 7 days

This is not me attacking you, this is just me calling for an honest discussion. What I propose is to be open about how things work around here and when a newbie asks how to earn money we should present him with all the options and point out that the upvote bots are the only tool that can guarantee them visibility. All the other options have a rather large element of luck.

Do I like it? No. Do I want the ideal of steemit to be true? Yes. Do I know how to make it so? No, and I don't see anyone with a concrete proposal that would work and prevent the abuse.

So here we are... a lot of words that won't change a damn thing

an honest discussion - bidbots will destroy Steemit if allowed. I am 10 years monetizing content online, its all I do :-) and I make a really good living from it. I don't use bots.

what you have said shows the major expectation gap on steemit. That you should come to steemit, make a post and make a load of money in the process. I have said before and I will say again, the person that becomes know as an overnight success has really worked a 70 hour week for the last number of years. There is no such thing as an overnight success and if you are here for the money, well it can be made with good content, consistency and time.

I agree with you on both counts.

There should be some pressure from the community on the bidbots owners to keep them under control.

There is no such thing as an overnight success and if you are here for the money, well it can be made with good content, consistency and time.

It can, but as a betting man, I wouldn't put my money on it. You have the numbers in front of you, I know you wouldn't either.

what you have said shows the major expectation gap on steemit.

And that gap is something created and promoted to this day by the community. All I'm saying is that the community should ease up on selling the dream and be honest about the state of things. A newbie should know that he or she has like 1 in 1000 chance to make money with good content and consistency, and 1 in 10 with money invested in buying upvotes. That's all.

As far as I know, almost everybody is here for the money to the varying degrees. If you could by some magic remove the money aspect for a month you know what would happen... In a month I'd leave you a comment: "I told you so" :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62178.11
ETH 2509.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66