markdown parsing issues while using <div> tags in new post submission

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Expected behavior

I wrote a new post in the internal editor of the site. I used <div> element for styling (like <div class="pull-left">. When I wrote markdown code right after the <div> opening tag (or even the closing tag) I expect to see the parsed HTML code beneath in the preview cube.

Actual behavior

The markdown didn't parse. The code appeared just like I wrote it.

markdown1.png

How to reproduce

  1. Get in post submission page.
  2. Write some markdown code (like # Header1)
  3. Wrap it with <div> tag, when there is no empty line between your code and the tag.
  4. You can also try write markdown after the closing tag. The bug appears there also.

Additional information

I found a hint about why it happened. Once I put an empty line between the tag and the code, it works as expected.
markdown2.png

  • Browser: Microsoft Edge 40.15063.674.0
  • Operating system: Microsoft Windows 10 Home



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

To support both Markdown and HTML in the same text editor, it requires some special handing/compromise with the syntax. Especially your HTML (div) element is overlaps the markdown elements. I would categorize this as a 'feature' rather than a bug.
For example, there are issues in Markdown when you want to insert a blank new line after code block, the workaround is to add <BR /> after triple escapes ```

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I think it's a bug because the editor behave not like I expected. Why it doesn't follow the rules?

Hi, I will not add both Markdown and HTML at the same time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63119.91
ETH 2695.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56