You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Steem] Steem Per Mvests Leads to Bot Island

in #utopian-io6 years ago

I mean... I know I'm a real guy... I just did some exercising and now I hurt like a guy. A while ago I did find my own little bot farm... 12 bots were posting memes 4 times a day through busy.org, which was paying 24c upvotes for using it's platform... these 12 accounts would then daily send their earnings to one account who was powering up and selling it's delegations. In 6 months that account was worth 88k USD... I sent it all to Steemcleaners but I forgot to keep records so I haven't had a chance to see what happened to it all.

Sort:  

I'm pretty sure you're a human being, or at least human enough I'm willing to grant you sapience rights. :)

That was a pretty good catch. What was the clue that put you onto them?

Yes!!! I can't wait to put that on my business card!

During my Curie duties I come across a fair amount of spam accounts.. and so dutifully report them to steemcleaners...usually spammers get no or one upvotes... but these ones were getting 11 upvotes... and so it was pure curiosity to investigate who was continuously upvoting such terrible spam... and found it was all the same accounts.. and then looked at their wallets. Once I realised two were in the same ring, it was super easy to find all the others.

I'm not sure that busy.org gives upvotes anymore... but the damage is done, they all had enough SP to vote each other...

Busy does, but only at something like a 16% level, which because of the rounding inherent in Steemit's undercarriage, can effectively never drop your voting power to 0.

@crokkon has a good analysis of the Busybot's recent activity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86