You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing: Steem Messenger (Beta)

in #utopian-io6 years ago

While I applaud the development effort, I’m wondering why this is actually necessary.

You can currently send messages to anyone. You can encrypt those messages. You can receive and read those messages. They already require keys and a minimal 0.001 fee.

Why would anyone need to use this specific “Steem Messenger?” It has all of the same required functions as current wallet transfers...but does not improve the messaging system. It’s pretty much exactly the same, except you would now use another third-party app.

Am I missing something here?

Sort:  

Hello @ats-david ! I agree with you, this application is just a better graphical UI to the steem wallet. We still need to give our active key in order to just send messages, which puts our account at risk.
In addition, this is not the real Steem Messenger. Here is the REAL Steem Messenger project : https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@kingswisdom/steem-messenger-v0-0-3-private-beta-session-image-encryption-and-many-more

It is off chain, does not require your active permission, nor to access to your funds, it is scalable at ease, and truly unique by design.

I will unveil the security protocol used in Steem Messenger (the real one) this weekend. Stay tuned for more info on this.

Not to mention private messages were already introduced around the start of Steemit. The name of this invention is called steemit.chat.

  1. Steemit.chat is not on the blockchain
  2. You can use any name you want on Steemit.chat if it's not already used. This has led to scammers using the names of big organisations to make people believe that they are trustable. Many newbies have lost their funds and accounts because of this.

I faced that problem sometimes too. You don't know who is authentic and who is not. Anyone can use any name on steemit.chat.

How can I encrypt my Memo? I couldn't figure out it yet.

This seems really interesting. Looking forward to seeing how it develops, will certainly give it a test.

Looking forward to seeing how my comment develops? How will you test it?

It's so that you can use a dedicated application that isn't cluttered with the rest of the functionality. I like my chat applications dedicated to preserve my sanity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51