Bug: v.1.50 eSteemApp Freezes when posting comments

in #utopian-io7 years ago

photo_2017-12-02_00-12-26.jpg

Issue:

I would like to report performance issues when posting comments using v.1.50 eSteemApp The application seems to freeze when try to post a comment. This does not seem to happen when using the older android app v1.4.6 eSteemApp.

logos.jpg

Software used:

  1. Windows 10 10.0.15063 Build 15063
  2. Bluestack v3.7.34.1574
  3. v.1.50 eSteemApp (in Android device)
  4. v.1.50 eSteemApp (in Emulation mode in Bluestack)
  5. v1.4.6 eSteemApp (in Android device)
  6. Firefox beta (in Emulated mode in BlueStack)
  7. Speedtest extensio

HW.jpg

Hardware used:

  1. HP elitebook 840 G1
    System information.png

  2. Lenovo A5000
    photo_2017-12-02_00-46-26.jpg

  3. Asus Zenfone 2 ZE551ML
    photo_2017-12-02_00-42-58.jpg

Sample:

Sample 1 Using v.1.50 eSteemApp on an Android Device. In this sample I tried to post a comment using the eSteemApp version 1.50 on my Asus Zenphone 2 . When trying to post the New eSteemApp just hangs and nothing happens. There are times it goes through but very seldom and usually when you just opened the App. When the apps is open more than two minutes things gets a lot more "buggier."

Hang.jpg

Sample 2 Using v.1.4.6 eSteemApp on an Android Device. When using the older version The eSteemApp does not hang. To demonstrate I used the older App and the post went through without a hitch. To do this I used my Lenovo A5000 with the eSteemApp v1.4.6 app was installed.

older.jpg

Sample 3 Using v.1.50 eSteemApp in Emulation mode in BlueStack. I did another test. This time under emulation mode where I used BlueStack Android emulator. The same happened like in Sample 1. The application just hanged. I did this on my HP laptop.
emulated bs.png

Sample 4 Posting in Steemit.com using Firefox beta to check if I can post in steemit. I used firefox and tested posting using steemit.com condenser. It went through as well.

test post emu.png.
test post emu 2.png

Sample 5 To check my internet connection I used internet Ookla speedtest.net chrome extension. Everything seems okay.

DSL connection.png

Conclusion:

  1. Not hardware issue
  2. Not internet connection issue
  3. Older version of the eSteemApp does not hang.
  4. Not steem node server issue.
  5. eSteemApp v1.50 is extremely buggy

Recommendation:

Revert back to v1.4.6 eSteemApp

146.jpg



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you @ankarlie for doing detailed report on freeze issue. I believe it is combination of connected server and refreshing comments. Improvements are on its way, stay tuned for next Android release.

You are welcome sir. When will be the webapp be available? I am really excited about it :)

SUGAR, YOU ARE THE BEST, SORRY I AM NOW LESS ACTIVE WITH YOU AND WITH MY STEEMIANS FRIENDS, BUT I WILL KEEP SUPPORTING YOU IN BEST VOTES
SAMER
RED-ROSE

Oh no worries :)

Nice post.. thank you

Thanks for stopping by kuya :)

Hey @ankarlie I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Hello,


Follow for 10 minutes and send a tip of 0.050 with your post link in a memo. Your post is resteemed and upvoted with over 400k sp. Thank you.

thanks for share @ankarlie.....;)

Oh hi dody! see you later in discord :)

Oh, I am having the same problem!

Ate mas okay gamitin yung dating version ng esteem here is the link to get it https://github.com/eSteemApp/esteem/releases/tag/v1.4.6

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ankarlie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks I will check out your services.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79