You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple Video Downloader 3.0.5 - Supporting MSDN and TED !

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Thanks for the contribution, @justyy. Since I started working on my own extension it's very interesting to me seeing how others implement theirs. I haven't added any unit tests for mine yet, as to be honest I didn't really have any idea about how to implement them for a browser extension in the first place. I am guessing the HTML files are what are used to test the extension on?

I would recommend using Prettier as there some small inconsistencies (like places where let could be replaced by const) and Prettier will fix those automatically. Was also wondering if there is a reason why you check if the URL's length > 5 twice (here and here) - I feel like I am missing something, haha.

Anyway, I might start doing some research about how to add unit tests to my own extension, thanks for the inspiration! Also, it's definitely no small feat to have 14000+ users, really cool!


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thanks for the review and yes I'll definitely checkout the Prettier.. To be honest, I am not a front-end developer and I hardly catch up the latest frontend frameworks. I use mocha and chai to unit tests the core JS classes and use webpack to pack the ES6 to something Chrome understands e.g. Chrome extension does not understand require. Yes, you are right with Length>5 - which is obviously a code smell and I'll fix that later.

Thank you for your review, @amosbastian! Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.19
ETH 2613.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67