Translating the Steem Whitepaper | English-Dutch | #2

in #utopian-io6 years ago

steemwhitepapertranslation_thumb.jpg

Project Details

I'm spending endless hours on the Steem Blockchain and love to explain Steem to both newbies (on and off-blockchain) and people who are already familiair with it. There are a lot of different aspects on the Steem Blockchain that are very detailed and I've noticed many people who are for example writing blogs on Steemit for months still have a lot of questions about the way reward distributions, witnesses or Steem Power work. Translating the Steem Whitepaper in my native language (Dutch) is my addition to add to a better understanding of the Steem Blockchain by more people.

Links related to the project

Contribution

I translated seven (sub-)chapters from the source language English to Dutch. The chapters I translated today covered the topics of Eliminating Transaction Fees, The Problem With Fees, Micropayments Don’t Work, Fees are a Barrier to Entry, Changing Fees, Sybil Attacks, and Full Reserve vs Fractional Reserve. I translated about 1100 words which were then proofread and approved by @misslasvegas after I corrected mistakes I made. The total translation of the Steem Whitepaper from English to Dutch is now 60% complete.

Other contributions in this project

To be continued

After getting approval for my first submission in the @DaVinci.witness and @Utopian-io translation collaboration I felt motivated to continue my work. I was struggling this time with a specific word, 'fee', which covers many meanings in English but doesn't have one word in Dutch that covers the subject in a similar way. I'm confident the way I solved it in combination with the critical eye of @misslasvegas it reads very well in the context of the whitepaper.

I'm planning on adding at least one more sumbission this week. I will make translating the Steem Whitepaper a big part of my work week next week. My goal is to finish translating the Steem Whitepaper before the end of September.

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the translation project for Davinci-Utopian @altrosa!

After the first piece you have translated, there were even less issues to discuss, even though the text was slightly more complicated with longer sentences. You managed to make it all into a piece that is easy to read, without any mistakes in grammar, spelling or punctuation.

My compliments!

It's a joy reading through your work and again, the collaboration between us was smooth and is very much appreciated. Thank you for all the hard work you are putting in and I'm looking forward to the next part.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @misslasvegas!

So far this week you've reviewed 2 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Hey, @altrosa!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Hi @altrosa!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 97 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83