Create a slideshow using HTML5 , CSS3 and jQuery

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Image Source

Repository

https://github.com/jquery/jquery

What Will I Learn?   

I will learn how to create a slideshow to show images or news ..etc using HTML5 , CSS3 and jQuery.      

  • How to change between remove and add classes 
  • How to append element to another element ( appendTo / insertBefore )
  • How to change the title depends the image that we press

Requirements     

  • Knowledge about HTML5 and CSS3
  • Knowledge about jQuery
  • A text editor like notpad ++

Difficulty   

  • Basic

Description  

 In this tutorial we will create a slideshow using HTML5 , CSS3 and jQuery to show images , title , description and button of more .

HTML File : 

In my HTML file I have created a div ' slider ' which is the content of my slider , and a div informations that contains the title , description about the image and a button ' more ' .

Inside this div I have two other divs the first for the enableImages and I have 3 enableImages and 3 disableImages , the div contains three list items each one has an image and a class enableImg , and the disableImages contains three list items each one has an image and a class disableImg , this class is disabled because of the display : none propriety in the CSS file .

After that I have two indecators ( left and right ) when we click on the right button it will give us the next image and when we click on the left it will give us the previous image .

CSS File : 

In my CSS file I added some proprieties for the classes ( colors , backgrounds , size , width , height ..etc ) to give the best form to my slider and this is the slider .

jQuery File : 

I have used firstly the 3.1.1 version of jQuery , which possesses distinctive properties , then I created my plugins jQuery file .

- I used the $(function(){}); which means when the page is loaded the content inside the function will be executed.

I defined two variables the left and right by the symbols ' r and l ' .

- I selected the left element by $('.left') by the class ' .left ' and I used also the click event with a function by the $('.left').click(function() {....});

Inside my function I have tested the left value to get the correct image because we have 6 images 3 in the disableImages and 3 in the enableImages .

- I used the removeClass , addClass , appendTo , insertBefore methods to generate the exchange in appearance and disappearance.

- When the right equals to 3 and we clicked on the left the right will appear , because when the right equals to 3 it will disappear . 

if ((r === 3) && (l > 0)) {

            $('.right').show();

  }

And when the right equals to the left , the left button will disappear .

- The same thing in the right class I used the click event and the same methods to generate the next image .

- When we click on the image the first image $('.menuSlider ul li:first-of-type') we will modify the html of the title 

 $('.informations h3').html('Title image #01');

Video Tutorial   

Curriculum   

This is the first video in this tutorial .

Proof of Work Done   

https://github.com/alexendre-maxim/slideshow-jquery

Sort:  

Nice work @alexendre-maxim. I like how you started right from scratch and finished with a complete functioning project.

24.20 I like how you found a solution to a problem then explained the solution to the learner.

30:40 another issues arises in the code. Once you figured it out I would have liked you to explain to the learners exactly what the issue was.

In your post text there are many errors in your grammar. It would be a good idea to have someone proof read your post before you post. I would be happy to help with some of that for you.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I have the honor to provide information to lerners , I am trying to make the best , thank you sir .

Keep up the good work @alexendre-maxim. I look forward to more contributions from you. :)

Hey @alexendre-maxim
Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

@alexendre-maxim, enjoy the vote!

Have you claimed your FREE Byteballs yet? Check out this post on how you can get $10-80 just for having a Steem account: https://steemit.com/steem/@berniesanders/get-free-byteballs-today-just-for-having-a-steem-account-usd10-80-in-free-coins

Congratulations @alexendre-maxim! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55