Found an issue when build the repo on Windows

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Introduction

I was playing with Steem APIs and come across this repo. It supports many categories of APIs so I think it might be useful for me. I cloned the repo locally and tried run the tests. I tried some basic commands to build the code and run tests, but they don't work on my Windows desktop.

This issue has been reported to the original repo:
Issue 314: NPM run scripts fail when run on Windows

image.png

Reproduce steps

1 Clone repo

git clone https://github.com/steemit/steem-js.git
cd steem-jss

2 Install dependencies

npm install

An error was found here when I used [email protected] version. In this version, npm install will automatically run prepublish script which builds the code and then fails due to the issue as described below. After upgrading npm to 5.6.0, I can by passed this step because it does not run prepublish script anymore with npm install.

3 Build code and run tests

npm run build

I got error due to some platform specific commands. This is the same as the test script which can be run by:

npm test

Expected behaviour

All install, build and test scripts should run without problem.

Actual behaviour

All three scripts can't be run on Windows though install command could be bypassed by upgrading npm to 5.x.

System information

Windows 10 Home 64bit
node: v8.9.4
npm: v5.6.0
GnuWin32 utilities are in my PATH so I can use gzip and du commands.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.
Hello, and welcome to utopian
Thanks for such an awsome contribution, i see you're a dev and you already sent a PR That's impressive. Unfortunately, you didn't check how utopian works, we work in collision with github and send the approved bugs directly as an issue in the repo for the maintainers to check. I feel like you have done awsome work, but i hate to follow the rules here and reject your work :( please read the rules next time. i really hope i get to see more work from you :)
this post was really up to my taste and i appreciate your work :)
You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you @sachincool! I couldn't find anything on Utopian Rules that says approved bugs are directly send to the repo. I am not a good reader at night so I might have missed it.

I did provided a fix for the issue but it hasn't been merged yet. I don't think it's a contribution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64