eSteem Surfer - Arabic Translation

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

As part of eSteem Translation Program. I decided to help translating the desktop App.


lwghssq64x.jpg

The translation is done on Crowdin.com and details on the project can be found in the posted linked [here] by @good-karma.

The original language provided is English and I translated it to Arabic. Since it's my first translation I hope I did a good job.

What's eSteem Surfer?

It's an application for desktop to interact with Steem blockchain. Kinda like Steemit or busy. It offers many advantages including push notifications, draft system and photo gallery.

The Process

I translated 1028 of 1052 words (almost all the entries. %97) I only left couple of entries related to witnesses because I couldn't find a good translation and due to my limited knowledge about the witness system.

cmgktm3nmz.jpg

I translated the entries in my best attempts, researching some phrases to see if there's a widely used Arabic translation for.

Though I left some words untranslated like the symbols and currencies: "Steem/SBD/Steem Power" I believe they're better off left in English. Please correct me (hopefully in a comment below) if that's not good.

2pdbzaa823.jpg

Hardships

Some parts where hard to translate. Ones that needed more context (which I asked for in comments) and some words that are hard to have a specific translation to.

For example: "Tags." the word in Arabic doesn't have a set word that all Arabians agree to and many of us use the english word in daily life.

It could be translated to "وسم" or "علامة" but I haven't seen it used that way. I decided to translate "(popular) tags" to "أشهر المواضيع" the Arabic I used translates to "most popular topics" but it flows more natural in Arabic than any other translation to tags as far as I know.

Final Words

I spent about 4-6 hours on this and all in all I'm confident in my work. Finally I'm very glad to help contributing to eSteem Surfer which I use daily.

Links

Sort:  

Hello dear @ahmadmanga Great work, but I have some notes, you made some errors, I corrected them

Here are some errors I've corrected

IMG_20190119_010907.jpgIMG_20190119_010845.jpg
IMG_20190119_010824.jpgIMG_20190119_010805.jpg

For more details :
https://crowdin.com/project/esteem-surfer/activity_stream

On the whole you've done a great job, please accept my feedback

Thanks for the feedback and the correction, but I believe in the context "آخرون" is better than "أكثر" but well I'm a beginner so I might be wrong.

I liked your translation "تمت مشاركته من طرف }n}" I wouldn't have thought of it. Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48