A Small Fix For Monogatari Visual Novel Engine

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

While it's been 2 years since I seriously developed something, I still play with some game development programs once in a while. Few days ago I played with TIC-80 and Today I played with a HTML5 Visual Novel engine called Monogatari.

UntitledMono.png

So while I was playing with the engine (hopefully I'll make something with it), I found a small error. and I've gone "Hey. I can post this on Utopian" I always wanted to post something here, and while I was writing this post I was like "I can fix it on Github too."

https://github.com/Monogatari/Monogatari/blob/master/js/script.js

WrongLink.png

Wrong Links in The Editable/Download Version Of Monogatari

The Documentation and Demo links in the lines 18 to 23:

var messages = {
"Help": {
    "Title": "Help",
    "Subtitle": "Some useful Links",
    "Message": "<p><a 
href='http://monogatari.hyuchia.com/documentation/'>Documentation</a> - Everything you need 
to know.</p><p><a href='http://monogatari.hyuchia.com/demo/'>Demo</a> - A simple Demo.</p>"
}
};

The link "http://monogatari.hyuchia.com" doesn't exist anymore, I suppose because the website URL changed from a sub domain to something more professional.

"Message": "<p><a  href='https://monogatari.io/documentation/'>Documentation</a> - Everything you need 
to know.</p><p><a href='https://monogatari.io/demo/'>Demo</a> - A simple Demo.</p>"

This is a big problem. Why?

The documentation and demo links are very important as they aren't downloaded with the engine and it can be hard to learn it without them. Especially when Monogatari and searching the word "Monogatari" alone won't give you the official website of it.

Pull Request Link

This is my first time doing Pull request I'm not sure I did it right, I can't believe I still haven't used this feature of Github yet... I have an account but I always procrastinated on it. Let's see if @utopian-io would make me a Git expert~



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

good ...I love it

Hey @ahmadmanga I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

great post. i didn't know about this graphic novel engine until today.
and it seems like there's a lot of active developers on utopian-io.

I didn't know about it until last week too, I just found it by chance when searching for a way to make LN for the web. Downloaded it because it was very lightweight.

it seems like there's a lot of active developers on utopian-io.

Yeah.. Steemit and Open Source go well together.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Nice catch on the bug! Normally we require more significant code contributions to be approved, but your presentation, explanation and fix were great. Looking forward to seeing what you do next! =)

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks for the approval... I think I'll be using Utopian more from now on ~

Normally we require more significant code contributions to be approved

I'll take that into account.


By the way the developers fixed it now, I'm so glad I've been part of this!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62483.85
ETH 2444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62