2DTanks - 2D shooting game

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

The Game


A word before the post, it's my first time I commit something to github that contains code, hopefully I did it corectly.

2DTanks it's a 2D game that will feature a few modes of battle between players or single-player. So far the game has a 1 vs 1 mode that is almost done, I need to add powerups and restrict a few player movements.

What I used to create the game?


The game was created in Unity3D with C# as it's main programming language, the graphics that will be added later will be created using Adobe illustrator.

What I managed to create so far?


I mostly worked on the 1 vs 1 mode so far with a little on the survival mode.

1 vs 1

  • Player_1 movement using W,A,S,D buttons.
  • Player_1 shooting using G button.
  • Player_2 movement using numpad buttons 4,5,6,8.
  • Player_2 shooting using 0 on the numpad.
  • Added collision between all objects on the map
  • Managed to make both Players change the tank facing direction when you press the movement buttons, if you press W tank will face up, if you press D it will face right etc.
  • Managed to make both Players shoot projectiles and change the shooting direction with the player's facing direction.
  • Projectiles dissapear if they hit a wall (later I will change the walls so players can destroy them).
  • Projectiles can destroy the enemy tank.
  • Made a panel that shows the winner and let's you retry the map.

Those are some of the things I managed to do so far for the 1 vs 1 part, if I remember any other I will add them in the future update list.

Here's how the 1vs1 looks now, hopefully by posting the game I can get some graphics contribution so the game looks better, I will add at the end the things I really need for the game.

Survival Mode

For the survival mode I didn't do much yet, I am just testing things and I will dive into it once the 1vs1 mode works and looks better.

  • Managed to make the turret of the tank rotate facing the mouse on the screen
  • Tank can be moved using W,A,S,D and MouseButton_1 to fire.
  • Projectiles will be fired upon mouse position

Here's a short video.

Roadmap


Here is a list of the things I want to add asap.

  • Change collision mode, it's shaking sometimes when 2 objects collide
  • Change the map mode, now it's created by big blocks with a collider on them, I want to create map elements using square objects so the map could have a lot more elements for the players to use
  • When I'll change the objects to square ones, I'll make it so players can destroy different enviroment objects
  • Adding sounds is a must on the list
  • A menu for the game
  • A few stats about the players on the left and right side of the screen
  • Powerups

Those are the important things that I want to get as soon as possible.

Contributions


What can others contribute to this project?
Well you can contribute with anything you want but the things I need now are mostly graphics.

Obstacles created in a square shape max resolution 256x256, tanks, menu buttons (Play,Quit,Sound On/Off)

Download Link:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1w_rw9-SmOSLE2UsMp4VlFpbWkHsTRDDf

Below I'll show you a few screenshots from my unity project.

G1.PNG



G2.PNG



G3.PNG



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

hello fellow gamedev. this is cool stuff.
looks like you have a lot of love for tanks.
(or is it just the recent thing you're doing?)
anyways this kinda reminds me of battlecity. i'm not sure if i remember the name correctly.

I really loved that game when I was younger and now I want something close to that but with more features.

sounds interesting, upgrading an old idea with new stuff. i can't wait to see the final results man.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Please try to publish it and you can make a task request for graphics in Utopian and please enrich readme with instructions to build locally.

Your roadmap seems nice spread it into commits to utilise the power of git.

Thanks

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for the fast approve, when I make request for graphics on Utopian, I post the request as a blog post? Gonna edit the readme right now.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 36.25% Upvote

This post has received a 0.07 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @ady-was-here.

This post has received a 12.90% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @ady-was-here. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You got a 4.12% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @ady-was-here!

Nice work. Very similar to unity tanks tutorial. Keep it up :)

Thank you. I just checked the unity tanks tutorial, that looks nice and it's 3D mine is 2D hopefully it will run on older Androids once it will be released for phones.

Yeah depends on the graphics and amount of call times and stuff. I also am working on a mobile game and have to try to deal with them. If you need something hit me on steem or on Twitter @ gmaes_chrono , maybe I can elp you or you me ^^

Cool, thank you :)

Hey @ady-was-here I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59139.79
ETH 2511.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41