You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Analysis of Timing of Upvote Bot Use

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Totally awesome! I was wondering out of you, @crokkon, or @paulag would put this together!

So the campaign seems to have worked in some regard. The earlier votes may also be arriving due to many bots switching to the 3.5 day policy and returning sends.

What I really don't like is huge early votes where the user has delayed posting to time a bid-bot to hit the post on the first 5 minutes. This is negative to the bots curation (oh well!), but also negative to everyone else's reward (i'm quite sure). It totally puts me off voting when I see a post at 50-100 or more after 5 minutes.

Great work, worthy of an RS.

Cheers!

Sort:  

So the campaign seems to have worked in some regard.

I'm not soo sure - would you notice a boost on a post that is 3 or 5 days old? I probably wouldn't in both cases. And if it is low quality, does someone actually "correct" the rewards? At least gives more time to report abusers have maybe have the bot revert its vote... Is this done by users?
I think I already got ideas for 3 more analysis posts by just writing this... ;)

No perhaps not. The bot owners who have reduced the vote period have 'helped' with the numbers. I would hope the the cat and co. Are finding the crap as was the plan.

I don't think bots reverse the vote.

And I'm glad to hear you have more analysis planned!

I think it resolves one issue, which is potentially taking advantage of the 3.5 day averaging, even if that may not be the main driver for most late upvoters.

Some of the bot owners are also working on quality constraints - so the extra time could give them the ability to work through any action they think necessary. This may be an area Analysis / Utopian could assist with in general - automated systems to find abuse. As long as you can define what abuse is!

Thanks Asher!

Yes, I think getting the agreement of the bot owners to the new policy meant that the change over the month isn't so much a surprise. But I found the scale of the late voting really quite surprising.

Huge early votes can be a big gamble. It can put people off as you say. But if a whale sees your post on trending then your luck could be in. It's a little bit all or nothing in approach.

Cheers for the resteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56087.39
ETH 2965.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15