The inclusion of an Automotic media download feature.

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

Repository

https://github.com/deltachat/deltachat-android

Components

I am suggesting the inclusion of Automatic media download feature on Delta chat application.

Proposal Description

The Delta chat is an advanced application which I have used for quite some time now, and so far I have had no reasons to regret or uninstall it.

I'd love to propose a feature which I believe will be of extreme help to both the platform and its users. The name of the feature I'm proposing is an Automatic media download feature.

The automatic media download feature is a feature which should be developed and implemented. It should provide users with control over how media files such as pictures, videos, audios, and documents are downloaded when shared within the delta chat application.

Automatic media download feature should be the name of the proposed feature and it should be added to the settings tab. When it is clicked, it should display picture tab, audio tab, video tap and document tab all independent of the other. The above tabs mentioned should have sub-feature like WiFi, Never and Cellular when clicked.

When the developers are developing the Automatic media download feature, they should implement the WiFi option as the default option across all media files. What this means is that media files shared within the delta chat application should only download when the user is connected to a WiFi network. If a user wishes to change this, he can go ahead an do so.

Mockups / Examples


7AF4C135-8506-4DC0-9A9C-60656F1870DC.jpeg


The above picture displays the Automatic media download feature implemented within the settings tab.


D258FB56-7809-476A-8E44-7A046A135E69.jpeg


The above picture displays the features within the Automatic media download feature.


BFE7C2D7-6467-4FBD-89C1-1B6806292C4F.jpeg


The above picture displays options seen when any of the media file types are clicked.

Benefits

The benefit of implementing the Automatic media download feature is huge. Features are always a plus to any application, and it gives more credit to the developers.

The Automatic media download feature will enable users to take total control of their data while conversing with other users. They'll get to choose an option which suits them at all times.

For instance, if I'm running short of internet data, I can choose never to download media files automatically until I have subscribed for an internet bundle. If I'm connected to a WiFi network, I can easily change my downloading option to WiFi.

I believe since the Delta application is open sourced, more power and control should be given to the users.

Thank you

GitHub Account

https://github.com/abasifreke50

Sort:  

Hello @abasifreke!
I see that you were asked to discuss about the issue on Delta chat's support forum.
I would like to see your conversation with the PO there before I review your suggestion!

I have discussed the issue on its support forums, I'm awaiting the PO’s reply.

Let me know when he replies.

Thank you for your review, @syedumair! Keep up the good work!

Thank you for contributing.
Automatic media download feature is very commonly seen in the applications these days and it does impact the functionality of the applications to some extent.
Same applies to this application as well. Although the PO is not very keen to implement this but I hope that he considers your suggestion in future.
A similar proposal has been submitted on the delta chat support forum but since it was not on GitHub, your proposal is valid and worthy of utopian reward.
We are already looking for your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thanks so much @syedumair. I haven’t gotten a reply from the PO yet.. but I hope I will .

Hey, @abasifreke!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56