PanicTrigger: the most advanced means of notifying your friends and loved ones during emergencies

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

It's long since i contributed within the utopian colony, and this is because I got a new job which is draining my time and energy.

Last week while I was working in my new office, I overheard my colleagues discussing a robbery which happened to one of the colleagues last week when she was closing from work.

The little I picked from the discussion was enough for me to go in search of an application which could be of help in times of emergency.

Getting robbed can be so devastating, I have experienced it before, and I wouldn't want to go through that again.

The robbers who attacked one of my colleagues got away with everything she had including her mobile phone, laptop, money, and her electronic cards. Etc.

After listening to my colleagues conversing on the robbery, I made my way to www.f-droid.org, a platform which houses open source applications, and I found an application named PanicTrigger. I read through its review both on f-droid.org, and in its GitHub account and I was amazed, so I proceeded to download it.

In this review, I’ll share my experience within the little period I have used this application, and I hope you will be thrilled because safety measures must be made paramount in our lives.

Introduction


6498712C-0C3F-4925-B05B-0C0374D583F5.jpeg


Source

The PanicTrigger is an open source application which is extremely useful in times of emergency. It was designed to aid users in alerting their loved ones to come to their aids when they're in danger.

The PanicTrigger is a simplified application which has an active GitHub account with numerous updates implemented frequently, its user interface is smooth, and it does not require any technical knowledge to operate it.

I have used the PanicTrigger application for over a week, and I have come to agree that this application is very useful especially for parents or guidance.

You can never tell when your kids will be in need of an assistant, so it's necessary to ensure there are well protected.

How it works

The PanicTrigger application is designed to run in your device background, and it can listen to your incoming SMS.

If an incoming SMS is from a specific contact or it contains a specific word, your alarm will be triggered and after a minute your mobile device will dial the sender of the SMS automatically.

If you notice that you're being followed, and you don't want to make unnecessary calls so that you don't get attacked immediately, you can alert your friends by tabbing on the big red button and an SMS will be sent to your pre-configured contacts.

If your preconfigured contacts do not have the PanicTrigger application installed on their mobile devices, they'll only receive an SMS which contains the word ”panic” alongside your GPS coordinates.

Using the PanicTrigger application for the first time.

The first time I launched the PanicTrigger application, I was a bit confused on how to use it effectively, but thanks to YouTube, I was able to watch its tutorial which gave me more understanding.

When I launched the PanicTrigger application, they were necessary authorizations needed for it to work effectively.

I had to grant it the permission to send and view SMS messages, access to my device location was needed, access to make and manage phone calls and access to media files on my device were also needed.

When i was done with granting the PanicTrigger application all the required permission, i was able to proceed with the configuration process.

Features

Features are essential to the users of any applications, and from my own understanding, features are what distinguished the chaffs from the filtrated.

The PanicTrigger application has for features

  • Trigger words
  • Trigger word
  • Trigger number
  • Notify numbers

Trigger words


E223885E-4500-4665-B823-03B84E5D8ABE.jpeg


The trigger words feature implemented on the PanicTrigger application is a cutting edge feature which provides a text field for users to write words which triggers their alarm in times of emergency.

Before the PanicTrigger application can work, you must configure some contacts on your mobile phone.


5365B1D8-C67A-46E6-B0CA-0CA96E3E96C5.jpeg


The editorial image I have uploaded displays the word which I have chosen to be my contact’s trigger word. The same is present on my mum's phone. If my mum ever gets into a tough situation, when she tabs on the red button, my alarm will be triggered immediately.

Trigger word


F31DE1EC-0EEC-4534-8FCB-AE8009069B83.jpeg


The Trigger word feature is a wonderful feature that provides the users with a text field to write down their trigger words which will be sent to their contacts. Trigger words can be anything that signifies you're in danger and it is necessary to include as many as you can.

83AAAEC2-9B7C-41B6-B503-79474A7DEECA.jpeg


The Trigger word feature provides a text field where you can input your desired word. When this desired word is called upon, your friends or family members which you have included their mobile number within the notify number feature on the panic Trigger will be notified.

Trigger numbers


8D8E9A63-E916-49EE-8F30-347FB762519F.jpeg


Before you can be notified during an emergency, you must write the phone number of the user which you'll love to assist during an emergency within the Trigger number feature on the panicTrigger application.

Within the Trigger number feature, I have included almost all my siblings mobile numbers so that when ever they are in need of assistance I can be notified immediately.

Notify numbers


2B4C3D87-F251-4B62-B571-4B51CF204616.jpeg


The Notify numbers feature is a great feature which provides a text field where users can choose different numbers to notify when they're in need of an assistant.


EA67E5B0-F3F2-4845-BFCB-8A57AD631696.jpeg


I have added 3 numbers, and so far I haven't gotten into any situation which requires my preconfigured contacts help.

Conclusion

The PanicTrigger application is very useful and I must commend the developers for this masterpiece.

The UI of the PanicTrigger application is smooth and it provides various options within its features to choose from.

For parents, the PanicTrigger application will give you rest of mind over your children’s safety, and you’ll be able to reach out to them if you’re in need of an assistance.

Links

Project repository

https://github.com/tacticalDevC/PanicTrigger

Project’s Official website

https://tacticaldevc.github.io/PanicTrigger/

Resources

Images shared within this article are screenshots from my Android device. The logo which was downloaded has been sourced

GitHub profile

https://github.com/abasifreke50

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. I appreciate the effort put in providing information about the Panictrigger application. Well explained and well done! The app is indeed useful, considering its purpose and how effective it is. It is an app to try.

On the presentation side, the post is a bit of a letdown. I have read many of your publications, and I think this one could be better. It seems like you write and post without checking for minor or significant issues. As you know, we value information, but we also prioritize quality writing. I’d recommend a more thorough check of your future contributions. If you wish to see some of the issues with the post, I'd be happy to cite examples in a follow-up comment.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @tykee! Keep up the good work!

Hello abasifreke, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Hi @abasifreke!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @abasifreke!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73