Netguard: Restrict Mobile applications from accessing the internet (Part 1)

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

A few years ago, I had difficulties managing the internet bundle on my Android device. It got to a point where I had to subscribe more than three times in a month.

One fateful day, I shared my experience with my friends who were tech geeks at that time, and they advised me to get an application called ”the noRoot firewall” from Google PlayStore which I did, and since then the amount of internet data used by my smartphone has reduced.

Before I had difficulties managing the internet data on my Android device, I had an iPhone which I was using, and taking control over the applications which can access the Internet was made easy by the developers.

The developers of Apple products took necessary measures to ensure each application installed on an Apple product can be denied access to the Internet connection at any time.

While using my iPhone, I didn't have any reasons to be worried about applications using my internet data while running their background activities because only five applications were granted access to the Internet connection.

Last month, I felt the need to change the noRoot application because it did not have most of the features I required. I search through www.f-droid.org, and I found an application called Netguard. After reading through its review on the www.fdroid.org, I proceeded to download its free version.

Introduction


FB7AC29D-1896-42C6-B6E4-AEE7FE1725A0.png


The Netguard application is an open source application which has nifty features. Its main purpose is to provide users with absolute control over installed applications that can access their internet services, protect their privacy and improve their device battery life.

The features on the Netguard application are numerous, and it provides endless possibilities to its users. For instance, a user can block a particular application from accessing the Internet services over a WiFi connection while allowing the application access over a mobile data connection and vise versa.

Comparing the Netguard application with other applications, I have seen clearly that the developers of the Netguard application took a lot of time in studying the discrepancies faced by users while using other Internet blocking applications before developing and implementing the Netguard application.


7D829208-89A4-480E-9D80-D18ABCF2EF19.jpeg


The picture above shows that I have restricted the application from accessing the Internet through the mobile data


302B5964-B8DF-40CB-93DE-9FBBEA3BC649.jpeg


The picture above shows that I have restricted the application from accessing the Internet through a WiFi connection

There are other options within the Netguard application such as

  • Block WiFi,
  • Block mobile,
  • Allow WiFi when the screen is on,
  • Allow mobile when the screen is on,
  • Block roaming.

0D7505DE-5AC3-4246-81BA-565F00429C34.jpeg


Block WiFi feature

The block WiFi is a feature which provides me with an option to restrict my applications from internet access when I am connected to a WiFi network.

The beauty behind the block WiFi feature can be seen when you're trying to minimize data consumption. I don't have a router or a hotspot device, so anytime I'm connected to a WiFi network, I restrict my applications from accessing the Internet since its someone data.

The Netguard application provides a manual way of restricting applications from accessing the Internet but using the block WiFi feature automatically block all applications so that you don't get to do it manually

Block mobile feature

The block mobile feature works more like that of the block WiFi feature. The difference is that you are only restricting applications from accessing your mobile data.

Before I knew of the block mobile feature, I was using the manual way which was hectic due to the fact that my android device contains a lot of applications.

Using the block mobile feature helped me a lot, and since then I can easily restrict all my applications from accessing my mobile data automatically.

Allow WiFi when the screen is on feature

Allow WiFi when the screen is on is an extraordinary feature which I'm yet to see on Netguard alternatives. I was intrigued when I saw this feature because I know for sure that most times I sleep off while browsing the Internet through a WiFi network.

Allow WiFi when the screen is on feature is really helpful because it restricts applications from accessing the Internet when your device screen turns off.

Allow mobile when the screen is on feature

Since I started using the Netguard application, the allow mobile when the screen is on feature has been on. I know that most times when I'm back from work, I tried to glance through so many blogs and during this process I might eventually sleep off.

Your mobile applications accessing the internet can be devastating especially when your mobile data is running low. With the help of the Allow mobile when the screen is on, you'll be assured that your applications are not draining your mobile data unnecessarily.

Block roaming feature

Though I have not used the block roaming feature, I have an idea of what it does.

The block roaming feature is built to restrict your mobile applications from accessing an internet connection while you're out of the country.

Conclusion


E9317315-7FA5-41B4-A363-A5420123CD83.jpeg


Since mobile applications are designed to use the internet connection while running their background activities, the Netguard application will put you in control of your application access to the internet.

If you're running low on Internet bundle or you’re willing to streamline your data usage, I'll advise you use the Netguard application to shield some applications from accessing the Internet.

Repository:

https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard

Resources

Some of the images displayed in this article are screenshots taken from my smartphone, the pictures that were downloaded are sourced properly.

GitHub Account
https://github.com/abasifreke50

Sort:  

Hello, @abasifreke!

Thank you for another contribution to the Blog category. This is a nice tool, and I appreciate the information you have provided us with. Keep up the good work.

In terms of content, I like all the information included in your review. Not only is your post informative and well-illustrated with quality screenshots, but it is also editorial. I appreciate the fact that you took the time to give insights on your personal experience with this tool, however I have to say that I wish you had provided us with more information on this matter.

That said, there were issues of style and proofreading, and I'd be happy to cite a few examples in a follow-up comment, if you wish.

I look forward to your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thanks @lordneroo for the review. I’ll love to see my mistakes so that I can learn and improve my grammar

Hello!

I will cite a few examples for you:

One fateful day, I shared my experience with my friends who were tech geeks at that time, and they advised me to get an application called ”the noRoot firewall” from Google PlayStore which I did, and since then the amount of internet data used by my smartphone has reduced.

As I have said before, long and convoluted sentences affect comprehension, and lead to errors.

Let me rephrase for you: "One fateful day, I shared my experience with my friends who were tech geeks at that time, and they advised me to get an application called ”the noRoot firewall” from Google PlayStore, which I did, and since then the amount of internet data used by my smartphone has decreased/has been reduced."

Before I had difficulties managing the internet data on my Android device, I had an iPhone which I was using, and taking control over the applications which can access the Internet was made easy by the developers.

This sentence should read: "Before I started having difficulties managing the internet data on my Android device, I had an iPhone which I was using; therefore, taking control over the applications which could access the Internet was made easy by the developers."

Furthermore, I think that you need to do a better job with your paragraphing. The post contains too many short paragraphs, which makes it hard for the readers to get a flavour of the key points for the whole text. Your paragraphs should be between four to eight sentences long, and each paragraph should discuss one main, identifiable idea.

I hope you will find this comment useful.

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Hi @abasifreke!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @abasifreke!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87