The Description and Story of "You See, I See" and how it became #useeisee

in #useeisee7 years ago (edited)

Why I created You See, I See

It actually started not with a photo. It started with a birthday card I made for my daughter-in-law
I wanted to keep a photo to remind me of all my joy that went with it
I wanted to blog about the card on my blog back in 2007 but I was really short on time because I needed to run it down to the post office 1.1 miles away ... ok briskly walk it.
So I just started a list of what I "saw" around the card. And it evolved out like this ...

You see

![image]()

A birthday card

I see

(you eventually won't be shocked that the original list actually went long but I'll spare you here ;))

  • I see a reminder that I left my cell phone at home and couldn't call Sam on her birthday. Well that and I was fairly sure that by the time I got home, she was sufficiently entertained by her husband.
  • I see a reminder that my son has married a lady who will take great joy in knowing that there's all of this behind her birthday card. I know she believes, one person can make a difference and she doesn't mind stepping forward and she encourages others to do so also. (Obviously this references somethings I left off here.)
  • I see a new addiction. This is my first experience creating cards using stamps and art papers.
  • I see a challenge ... I don't have an envelope for the card. Hmmmm ... Wait ... I might !! I do! I just have to unpack them.

Why I continued

Most photos in my stash have memories.
When I choose one to display, it starts talking to me.
So, I found it an easy pattern to continue and share.

The Ally @allyinspirit Twist

  • Ally @allyinspirit added a layer by asking for the reader's response. "What do you see now?" I think that's awesome!
  • When Ally told me she was going to do a #useeisee, I told her to come back and leave me a comment, so I would know. This is really a good tradition. BUT go back to the person who first introduced you to the tag. You don't need to tag me. You can link to this post as aften as you see necessary.
    Also, Steemit does not send notifications of @ mentions in posts and in random comments. It only notifies a person if there is a direct reply to their comment or post. So, just remember anyone you mention "tag" in a post or comment will not know. Yes there are apps and there are browser/operating system combos that send mention notifications, but in general, if you really want someone to know they're being talked about, reply on one of their posts.

A bit of FAQ

Do I have to use the #useeisee tag?
If you don't want anyone else to see that you're doing a #useeisee, no. If you want to share the joy, it helps to use the tag.

Can I mix #useeisee in with any other challenge, etc.
Yes, this is a writing style. It's not a stand alone challenge or band wagon. I very often mix it with other photography or even some writing prompts. I've been using it with the Steemit ColorChallenge from time to time.

Do I have to use bullet points?
The bullet points were a result of me making a "quick" list. But I found I really liked that style. It doesn't have "boggy-ness." It's easy to get stuck in the bog when writing out a story.
And in reading over other people's You See, I See posts, I have been surprised to see that the simple sentences listed out are capable of being emotionally charged.
That said, if you would rather write paragraphs, I'm not going to stop you!

Does it have to be my original photo?
I don't think it does! But I do think you should have permission to upload it. And of course images that are "free use" are everywhere. I usually run to upsplash.com but there's also pixabay.com and others.

Can it be any other art?
Why not? I know plenty of my digital art pieces are willing to yell at me. AND let's not forget, this little writing exercise started because an object inspired me. So, if you can capture it, you can write a "You See, I See."

Is this a contest? Is there an award?
No. This isn't a contest. Perhaps people will like your work and upvote ;-)

How do I tell others about You See, I See?
@allyinspirit has a very gracious and fluid way of inviting people. You should read some of her posts anyway! So, go take a look. Me, I tend to say, "If you want to use this style, you can. Please use #useeisee so you can be found." But you can certainly send people to this post as often as you like.

Sort:  

I loved reading the inspirational story behind 'You See, I See' and how it became #useeisee 💕

The FAQs are great. Enough flexibility to enable anyone who wants to, to take part. 👏

I see.

  • A lovely design with a great colour combination.

  • My love of opposites like these, when one is a pure primary colour and the other a tone.

  • A birthday card ~ As I looked closer to see the text. Love the accent of the primary as part of the text.

  • Strong shadows that make the flat design appear to be hovering. Ah, but the design isn't completely flat, with the slightly raised flower and ribbon. Beautiful touch.

  • We have two more things in common. I love making special cards for special people. The energy that goes into making a card or gift, when you have someone in mind, weaves a different sort of magic into it. I'm sure it's one card your daughter-in-law will always treasure. ✨

  • We are about the same distance away from the nearest post office ~ And I often have to walk briskly to it. A topic in itself.

  • We are both pretty fit.

  • Your concept of #useeisee is BRILLIANT ~ When entered into, it transforms what you may have felt was 'ordinary' in your own life into something that is fresh and alive.

Of course now that stupid cat will be by to tell me it found similar info on the web because it doesn't let you upload another photo to a post that is already published. But it did let me insert a linked image. So. LOL

SO good to have the image icon there now Marilla.

And although some of the earlier posts have vanished in the #useeisee listings, the ones that are there now don't seem to be dropping off any more. Happy days. 😊🙏😊

I discovered a little secret. The search doesn't necessary pull up articles by tag ... but ... I noticed another person putting their special tag in the title field. All of those came up. So, I'm tagging mine in the Title now. Have fun! Just 10 minutes ago it was 10:30pm Now NOW It is 1:29AM Something is seriously crazy with Steemit. Time warps all over!

Caught in the same time warp Marilla. It was morning just a few minutes ago and now I'm about to go out for some late afternoon winter sun before it vanishes. Sweet dreams. 🐋 🎊 🐋

Hooray! Finally! Finally? Finally what? Finally Finally I got a png file uploaded to this post instead of the blank jpg ... the things we learn the hard way here!!!!

Thank you so much for all the promotion you've been doing on my behalf!!! It's so rare to find someone with such a graceful writing style as yours! --Even in your little promo blurbs :) Thank you!

Now, to make a proper reply. I had no choice in the colors lol. It was a prepared kit that I put together with some ladies at church. It was the day I found out that some of us never left kindergarten. ;-) I think we made 3 more cards together as a group and then drama waves. Like serious stuffs for lots of us. And then we moved. :-/... I did get to see several of the ladies on return trips though. ... See I wasn't going to tell all that stuff. LOL. ok so.

Sigh. The post office and I don't have the same rapport these days. For some years it actually kept improving step by step. It went from 1.1 miles to an 8 min stroll to literally at the end of my driveway. Now it's 200 ft to my mail box and close to 5 miles to the post office. At least I like the two ladies who do the mail delivery !!

I do think it's great fun to meet someone who knows how to chat it up, like me :)

Awesome story! Thank You for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42