You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The US is NOT a Democracy

in #usa7 years ago

I used to teach Political Science to college students, and the lesson on the Electoral College was one I always enjoyed giving, because it was like unlocking some mystery to most of the students. Very few, if any, of them ever came into my classes with any real understanding of how the Electoral College works and why we have it. I got to break out my terrible drawing skills, let people make fun of my hand-drawn USA maps, and actually witness them understanding this mysterious thing. It was like a click, and the lights of knowledge would go on in their eyes.

It was also usually quite a surprise to them to find out we are a representative democracy and not a pure democracy, and to learn the difference between the two. When we discussed it, most were appalled that there are closed primaries in some states; nearly everyone believed primaries should be open to everyone, regardless of political party (a thing with which I agree).

It's such a sad state on our public school education that so many people came into my COLLEGE level classes not even knowing the name of the sitting vice-president. I always told them if they knew nothing else when they left my class, they would know that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69