Southern Sessions #3: Guns -- My first time shooting!

in #usa7 years ago (edited)

Hello people! What a great Sunday. I spent the whole day in Backwoods, North Carolina shootin' with the boys. 

Would you believe it took me 25 years to shoot my first real gun? Before that it was only pellets and BB's. @Reinhardt told me, "All it takes is one time. Pull the trigger and a lot of the fear goes away". 

Buddy, you're right. I told him later, "So much makes more sense now." Guns are a force equalizer, and to wield one is a tremendous responsibility. 


Our buddy's land is gorgeous. This stream runs right through the middle of it. He used to have a bunch of goats, until some hoodlums came in and shot them all. 


These targets were made of scrap metal. Those holes are from an AK-47 and a much bigger hole from a 12-gauge slug.


I had my first shot with the .22 magnum revolver. It's a beautiful machine, gives you that gunslinger kind of vibe. 


Info for novices: bullets are made of lead because it's malleable. When it hits a target, it spreads out. Steel-tipped bullets will punch right through something. 


@Sariun being a boss. (click for video)


@Reinhardt being a boss. (Click for video)


@reinhardt -- Boyz in the dayz! (Click for his awesome driving skills)

This is the 9mm Glock 19. It's louder and has a bigger kick than with a .22. Shooting with this was exhilarating. 


Take a look at this beauty. The AR15 .223/.556 the new American musket. The recoil really wasn't so bad, but the rush of shooting this thing was so good. The first photo is a standard AR, the second's a pistol AR.


Here's @Sariun with the .357 lever action. I had fun with this one, it's so precise! There wasn't much kickback, surprisingly. 


Here's another shot of that 9mm Glock 19.



This one may sound like a pea shooter when it goes off, but it's actually a rifle that shoots .22lr subsonic rounds. That means it doesn't break the sound barrier, so all you hear is pfft-ting!


Look at these beauties; to the left is the .22 magnum revolver. To the right is the 9mm Ruger. Don't let the look of that Ruger fool you --- this sucker is powerful and accurate. 


A simple Sunday evening set. To the left is the .357lr and to the right is that .22lr subsonic.


What a beautiful day. I'll have some land like this of my own when the time's right. 


We burned through quite a few rounds today.


That was a great experience. I'll be going up to the shooting range here soon to work on my form.

Thanks for reading, I hope you got something valuable out of it! I'll keep 'em coming.

Check out more @rotiwokeman .


Sort:  

That's really cool. I have never been to a shooting range, really wanna try something like this.

Swords are cool but I found these to be more practical. As a novice, you may feel like you can take on a bull.

interesting i shot my first gun at a young age

This is you, right?


(Source is in the photo address)

Congratulations @rotiwokeman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66251.96
ETH 3068.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70