You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Urban Exploration; Pondering?

in #urbex6 years ago

Hi Slobberchops, You may need to be aware of non-official encounters.
I did a little bit of urban exploration while on holiday in the USA. We were driving near Silver City in the mid-west and encountered a deserted looking mining town. There was an abandoned bank, and looking through the smashed-in door we could see a classic old walk-in safe. Big, black with filigree'd designs painted on. So we went in.
A few minutes later I wandered out to take more shots and a guy on a Harley rode past. He took a wide, leisurely u-turn, and stopped in front of me.
"What y'all doin'?"
My mind went back to the STOP sign peppered with bullet holes I'd photographed when we arrived.
"Hello, we're just on holiday - I love a bit of industrial archaeology and this old mine has lots of it!"
The guy explained that there'd been a lot of vandalism here and he liked to look after his town...
We left not long after.

Sort:  

My mind went back to the STOP sign peppered with bullet holes I'd photographed when we arrived.

I think the US may be a little different. Some people over there think guns before brains. You did right to get the hell out of there.

It scares me to think about doing this again, but I want to prove to myself that I can and have some balls. After the Mystique incident I cant help but feeling I should have at least taken some more snaps.

That place was not vandalised like many are here. It surprised me that it was in such good condition inside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60071.31
ETH 2409.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43