You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Does a Village Become a City?

in #urbanism7 years ago

Thanks so much for the thoughtful feedback @chrissymchavez! On the process going forward, the NRDA is expected to implement our master plan in phases. However, a lot can happen between now and 2030. (I remain cautiously optimistic.) For me, I get frequent updates from team-members who are still consulting on the project. My direct work here wrapped up when we published the master plan document. I wish I was more involved, but I'm half a world away. I'm very glad that many of my local team members remain on the project and are working hard to make sure it's success.

Building at this scale should really be that symbiosis I spoke of. There's so much knowledge in the landscape and culture there already. Drawing from those lessons will make cities like Naya Raipur more resilient and impactful.

Sort:  

Kind of a bummer you can't be there to watch it all happen (hopefully happen) but that's great that you've kept those relationships. I would be interested in seeing progress on some of those updates! If you can't post them (I know it's a ton of work) is there a place I can go on the web to see progress?

I wish I was there! As an urban planner it's rare to actually see and experience the fruits of labor. Although, India might be an exception to the rule because things are made so quickly! On updates, take a look at the .gov website below. You can also see some of the early building footprints on google earth!

http://www.nayaraipur.gov.in/

Jesus, Google Earth is just insane. That's awesome! I studied Recreation, Parks & Tourism in school (dabbling ever so lightly in urban planning) so this is really cool to see! I love all the recreational space in sector 24! (i believe its sector 24, I'm using this model http://www.nayaraipur.gov.in/Upload/MenuData/1.pdf)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44