My Urban Homesteading - Part 1 : The Harvest

in #urbanhomesteading6 years ago (edited)

container 1.jpg

Hi everyone!

I think it makes sense ... a self-description of me would be that of an urban homesteader. Though I live in the city, I call my home a homestead . And am proud to be able to see the fruits of my labor, labor which makes my heart joyful because somehow I have the perception of sustainability in the things I do in and around my home.

container 3.jpg

cont 15.jpg

Urban homesteading is a kind of lifestyle I chose to make my home work for me. I am self-sufficient not in terms of crops land or animal breeding, selling products out of farming and the likes. The kind of self-sufficiency I mean is I save a lot of money from doing the things myself in and around my home such as growing food in containers. Making food preserves such as pickled cabbage and cukes , preserving roasted garlic cherry tomatoes that were harvested from pots. We have an apple tree that bear lots of fruits which we make into marmalade and lots of apple pies and tarts. I also make our own juices with the pressing machine we obtained recently...... plus a small garden that attracts bees and butterflies.

cont 10.jpg

cont 16.jpg

Though we do not have a farm to tend to so we can sell what we produce and spend the income to buy something... by making the things around the house ourselves help us save a lot of money instead of hiring someone to make them for us. It´s the value of money we do not need to spend somewhere else.

container 20.jpg

The Harvest

Let´s talk about my container gardening. In this season, I have planted 3 beefsteak tomatoes and 1 bush cherry tomatoes.. I have harvested a lot of cherry tomatoes last week and roasted them with garlic preserving them in olive oil. But it did not last long, because of its goodness the tomatoes were munched-out in just a week. The lettuce were freshly picked everytime we needed leaves for the salads as well as the cukes.

20180520_080359.jpg

container 2.jpg
Beefsteak tomatoes

cont 13.jpg

cont.9.jpg

These green beans were harvested last week. They are just about 30 centimeters in height but were producing plenty of beans that I made them into Beans Gulasch seasoned with sweet paprika powder.

container 6.jpg

The eggplant are just getting bigger day by day and the one bush I have now has about 4 fruits and some buds are still developing. The eggplant harvest is already reserved for the Imam Bayildi recipe.

container 7.jpg

As for the bell peppers, I have two plant varieties, one being dark green in color and the other, light green. I intend to let them become red in the stem. They are good for my Menudo recipe.

20180706_081843.jpg

20180519_080317.jpg
planted a pot of strawberry just for fun

That's about it for now!

HAPPY SUNDAY!

Proud Member
STEEMIT POWERUP.PH
Follow @steemitpowerupph

Footer Mers SPP.gif

Content and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Footer.gif

Special thanks to @gremayo for the GIF

Sort:  

How nice to see freshly picked vegetables... I bet they are so crsipy, am sure my daughter Astrid would love the tomatoes especially the small ones. Thanks for sharing.

Indeed, I´m sure your daughter Astrid would like to taste the smaller ones, they are actually a bit sweet. Thanks for visiting. God Bless!

WOW!!! They look very healthy and so crunchy... how I´d wish to have them here now. I could eat even when they are still half ripe with just a bit of salt.... hmmmm!

Hahaha... everyone wants to eat the tomatoes with salt... dildil asin! Thanks!

Healthy vegies from your garden. I am thinking to have a vegetable garden in our house when retired from work.

Oo nga talagang hilig ko ang gardening eh... Yes, you can surely do good with your garden... sustainability is the thing to provide fresh and healthy vegetables. Thank you.

@mers your vegetable plants look healthy!

Hi @lemonchum... so glad to see you here. Thank you. How are you these days?

Wow so.organic I love it so much.
I wanted to plant again but our soil now is not good.
Sa bag o pa palit ang yuta nindot ko grden sa bslay sa akong amo but now dili.na ok
Wala naku natiman fter my operation.

Oh you should take your time... tutal mahimo ka man makapalit sa mga stores... You should take care of yourself first before anything... Salamuch!

Salaam inday @mers I gardening mawala along kalaay basta mg garden

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Asalaam alaikum ! Mao gyud... so let´s keep trying to garden... go go go!

Healthy life inday

This comment
was made from https://ulogs.org


Was alaikum salaam

Mao gyud.. Thanks!

i love it tita very fresh, creative and beautiful garden hope i can make it too

Thank you... Oh yes, you are still young , just follow your dream and realize it by and by...

If I would only have the time, I would like to try container gardening too.. I couldn´t believe that these harvest is possible with those small amount of soil to grow them.

Yes, you can try it out... it is relaxing to garden and at the same time a stress reliever... you can always start with small plants. Thank you.

Kulang ng asin need magtanim ng asin, para di na ako kakatok at manghingi ansarap ng kamatis at bell pepper kilawin may raspberry pa, yum yum!

very fresh harvest mam @mers , naku bet ko din ito , magkasariling taniman mga gulay , kakainspire po , pag malalaki na siguro ang girls ko makakagawa din ako ganyan 😍❤️❤️❤️

OO try mo kapag may time ka... I know you will like gardening kahit sa paso lang... Many thanks.

Mouth watering produce! Self sustaining gyud ka @mers

Hehehe... thank you Judy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03