Faceless woman

in #urban6 years ago (edited)

hqdefault.jpg

The curse of the faceless woman,

Lost in time, this story is untold, about a woman, dark and bold.
She walks the streets on a foggy night, A hood to hide her from sight.

Her story one summer's eve, beside the lake an evil deed.
Her daughter's life a thief stole, her soul filled with pain and strife.

On a moonlight night shore, two young lovers walked and more.
In each other's arm that night, A talk of love and held on tight.

In the morning they were found, bound was there hands and feet.
Eyes wide a vacant stare, their souls gone and no ones there.

A search for the one the police did, a evil deed to be undone.
In pain they searched, but to no avail, their efforts weak, lost and pale.

A heat broken mother and splayed, a debt to justice went unpaid.
Walked the streets a night alone, to make the sinners pay and atone.

Searching the shores by day and night, A vain attempt to make things right.
Then one early morning dawn, she was found her her spirit lost and gone.

Clad in black she, walked alone, an evil soul she'll make atone.
Walked the streets at night she did, within the fog to hide her flight.

Children know to be aware, Least they see her standing there.
They run home at the approach of night, sure they wouldn't die at her sight.

So in the dark of night, should you seen this horrid sight, listen to me.
Look not at her face I say, or your soul shall pay.

As a child I grew up with this rhyme being told to me by my mother to make sure that I would be back before the sun would set.
I would always think my mother was telling me this, as she did not want me to stray and cause trouble with the other local children in my area. My friends always told me that this was a story and nothing more and so I would believe them and mostly ignore my mother.
That was until I went into the woods alone, That mistake I would live with for the rest of my eternal life, now stuck in the plains haunting the trails and fields.
For you see, on that dreadful night, I ignored my mothers rule and went to a party in the woods.
As I walked, I started to panic, thinking there was someone behind me, looking behind no one was there. Until a few yards down, I saw a woman dressed in black with a hood on her face. She lifted her vail, all I can remember is waking up and feeling cold. I saw some of my mates walking past, I tried to grab there attention but to no avail. I wondered what on earth was going on until I looked down and saw my corpse. Now here lonely I have some advice, always follow your mothers advice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54843.49
ETH 2298.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31