Can a urban girl go rural?

in #urban7 years ago

Donna 2017.jpg

Adjusting.

That's what I've been doing for almost 2 years. I've never considered myself high maintenance and I've taken pride in being flexible, but there certainly is an adjustment period when you go from living in the urban landscape and being out in the rurals. And we're not even as remote as some new homesteaders. I know that. But, I have missed being able to run to the store for that one missing ingredient in my recipe. Some things just can't be substituted. How on earth did I let us run out of coffee? It's important now to have planned meals and a stocked pantry. I really didn't have those systems in place before. It was just too easy.

It's not only grocery shopping I'm adjusting too. It's setting up new work schedules. I was an employee before with set hours and a job description. Now my husband and I are self-employed - we work for our homestead. Our hours are much different and they will be changing as we add livestock. Our job description is "Get er Done". Because if we don't do it who will? My husband David especially feels this burden. He's cut, hammered and nailed almost every board in our new home.

I've learned that my knees were worst off than I thought. All the sitting behind a desk and walking on flat surfaces did not prepare me for life out here in the rurals. I'm climbing ladders, hauling rocks in my gorilla cart and walking across not flat pastures. So physically this city girl is still adjusting.

My advice to older new homesteaders. Be prepared to adjust. Don't expect to have the same conveniences, daily schedules or even physical challenges that you had when you were city folk. Be patient, make lists, and buy comfortable shoes ;)

Freedom has to be exercised.

take care y'all

JRC stone logo tiny.jpg

Sort:  

Look forward to hearing your tales of woe and triumph!

Recovering from turkey overdose. I should have material for woeful tales ;)

lol - turkey releases serotonin in the brain, were you chasing the turkey dragon before you OD'd? :P

I did the same thing over 17 years ago. I moved from a HUGE suburb of Detroit to a small town of maybe 500 residents. Then I moved a little closer to the urban sprawl (now in a town of 7500 residents). Yes BIG culture shock, but if it is in you to do, you'll be great!

Spot on concerning comfortable shoes!

Thanks. I've already gone through a pair of mud boots. I'm thinking those might need to be bought by the dozen ;)

Oh yes, when the craving hits for a certain something (dare I say junk food?) and you can't really justify the trip ... I remember the days. And stocking up in bulk, freezing bottles of milk etc.
Tis a great adventure you're on though, by the sounds. I look forward to reading more. :)

We're stocking our pantries and have bought a freezer. Our goal is to get shopping down to monthly.

It is posible but the first day will be very very hard, i have one and they addapted very very nice.
Best regard @galberto

I hope your routine becomes easier on you @jrchomestead, I recently made the same change as you (though on a smaller scale) and am only just getting used to my new routine and all the back crunching tasks to be done around the place. Pace yourself as you do not want to be causing any serious long term bodily harm!

With being an older new homesteader my body has developed pains in areas I hadn't used in years. Trying to pace myself :)

Ouch. Try and do some stretching warm up before embarking on big tasks!!

Ran out of coffee?! Thats "get er done" juice lol. Will have to be mindful of that😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48