DIFFERENT REASONS WHY I UPVOTE POSTS

in #upvote7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends,

How are you doing today? I want to talk about different reasons why i upvote posts.

No doubt the main reason why we upvote a post is for steem power reward and this is why i upvote posts too. But their are other reasons why i upvote a post.

Some people tend to upvote only their friends post but i find this has an unwise thing to do, but that is just my opinion. I upvote my friends posts too no doubt, but i can also upvote any other person's post since i will also get a reward from it. I think steemit is bigger than just upvoting your friends post.

These brings me to more of the other reasons why i upvote posts and the reasons are stated below:

U5dsitPNeBA19XvGmfcpzKUQifCHuUz_1680x8400.jpg

image credit

  • I upvote a post for big reward.

For me i upvote authors post that i know has the potential of getting a lot of upvotes because i know that i will get big reward from there. I think people are also on steemit for the monitory reward and so i like to maximise it as much as possible. I this case there is a timing of how i upvote that will make the reward big.

  • I upvote posts to get followers.

For me i follow people who upvote mine post, especially when they consistently upvote my post. So i some cases when i consistently upvote a persons post, it is because i want the person to follow me too. It has worked for me several times but it is still not a guaranty that if you consistently vote somebody, that the person will follow.

So do not take it personally if you want somebody to follow you by consistently upvoting the person and still the person doesn't follow you. The person does not owe you anything because you choose by yourself to upvote the person.

  • Also i upvote posts to get an upvote back from the author.

For me also i tend upvote some posts to get upvotes back from the authors on my post. Some authors that i upvoted their post have upvoted mine back too, so it works. But again if this is the reason why you upvote some authors post and you don't get upvotes back from them, do not take it personally because they do not owe you anything since you are the one that choose to upvote their post.

  • I upvote post to encourage steemians especially newbies.

If you are a newbie just joining steemit, there is every tendency that when you post, it will not be upvoted by anybody because they are not quite familiar with you and this can be discouraging. So i upvote newbies who are not getting any upvote on their post just to encourage them and to make them know that somebody sees their works. Though this should not be the case. I belief that you can upvote anybody's post not just the people know provided you like what you see.

  • I also upvote posts because i do not want the votes to waste.

For example, if i am about going to bed and my voting power is close to 100% i try to vote some more post before is sleep, so it cannot reach 100% and start wasting. If your voting power is at 100% and you don't use it, it will waste, so in other for it not to waste i upvote posts before going to bed.

  • I also upvote good quality content post.

Of course, who doesn't like to upvote good quality content post, the fact that it is high quality is what attract people to upvote it, me included. But for me it might not always be because it is high quality i will upvote it, but also because i find the post interesting.

Thanks for reading.

If you have other reason why you upvote posts, kindly share it with me in the comment section @everyone.

Sort:  

It's very brave of you to be so honest about the reasons you upvote.

I have different reasons that I would upvote too, but I am moving toward splitting out my other upvote strategies into rules-based bots and only use my main account to upvote quality content where I want to comment and engage in discussion.

Agree! Very brave and honest

Yah, has a man you need to show bravery and honesty.

Ok. I like your strategy @josephsavage

Am following you for more friendly bond.

I try to help the newbies as much as I can with upvoting them and always commenting on their posts because I know how hard it is and discouraging at times and it takes time.
I used to try to upvote the whales etc, but now I don't try to suck up to anybody. If I like a post I will upvote and if I know you are a whale but your post is not a very good content I will not upvote even if that means I can get good upvote from them.
I know it might take me a longer to get to the top, but I want to do this right and make friends and enjoy this journey and not just be selfish trying to do everything I can to make it big.
I enjoy steemit and by helping and doing the right thing might take longer time but it will pay off at the end.
Just like your post. I really enjoyed it so I upvoted
Wish you all the best my friend @yaanivapeji

Hello @joalvarez

You are very correct. Thank you for popping by.

Am following you now.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Apeji Yaaniv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81