You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why @SumatraNate Upvotes A Post After Leaving A Comment

in #upvote6 years ago

Your guide that you have laid out here is pretty much the same as I follow for myself with regard to commenting and up voting comments.
Spamming of the posts gets me aggravated, but I have found that in a lot of cases it is people who are not proficient in English and have used a translation service to read the post, then reply with a short 3 word English comment to show approval. I have actually communicated back to them in their native language using google translation and ended up having quite a conversation.
This is the exception and not the norm, but a learning lesson none the less for both them and myself.
I really don't have an issue with comments being written without an up vote being given. I more interested in what people have to say than what they have to offer in terms of monetary rewards to my posts.

Sort:  

'have used a translation service to read the post, then reply with a short 3 word English comment to show approval'

I like your idea, I didn't think of that. I had some guy send me a Russian response a few days ago. It might have freaked him out if I had retorted in his own language!

I have used it with a couple people from Brasil and one from Poland. Sometime you have to work at what words you use, because not all words will translate, so it takes some time to get it proper.

I appreciate your perspective about non-English speaking Steemit users. I lived overseas for more than 10 years so I can understand how hard it is to communicate in another language.

It is great that you have taken the opportunity to communicate to others in the langauge that speaks to their heart. Thanks for showing that example.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30