You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why @SumatraNate Upvotes A Post After Leaving A Comment

in #upvote6 years ago

I believe you've described the ideal way that most interactions should go on this website. :)

Should somebody find a post that they find comment worthy, they should comment upon it and upvote it. One hard part is finding posts to comment upon when you have limited time to search.

Unfortunately so many people don't understand how this exchange could help them, and instead put very little work into their comments.
Thank you for writing so eloquently about this.

I dislike spammers, have been lucky and only 1 has commented on my posts.

At this point my vote is worth so little that an upvote from me is almost nothing. So I understand if somebody small like me would want to comment but not upvote.

My Approach is to upvote and then post a comment. I always try to comment about something in the post that caught my fancy and why. Sometimes I don't have a lot of time and cant go into detail unfortunately.

I will admit that I will often read a post and enjoy it but when I choose to go to upvote on it, I see that it already has more value in that one post than my entire two months here have accrued for me. So I just don't bother. Instead I like to look for the interesting posts with almost no likes or views and reward those folks for their effort.

Sort:  

You bring up some great points:

  • Our time is limited. Use it wisely. Give it freely.
  • People do not understand that taking time to comment builds social capital
  • We need to look for hidden gems. This was is a bit convicting for me!

Thanks for stopping by.

I like the descriptor Social Capital, that's exactly what we are all trying to build here. A place that values our comments and where we can receive worthwhile comments during our interactions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30