Wacky Weather! Go Home Winter You're Drunk, It's Time For Spring.

in #update6 years ago

I spent the day working on my motorcycle yesterday. I cleaned it up a bit, changed the handlebar risers, then took a ride in almost 50 degree weather. Comfortable for the most part, but far from enjoyable at that temperature. Current temperatures are really unseasonable.

new_risers_honda_shadow.jpeg

When I finally settle in towards the end of the day, I put on the nightly news and discover that about an hour drive away temperatures reached 70 degrees and above, and less than 3 hours away they were experiencing temperatures in 80's!

Apparently we're right on the edge of this weird jet stream. Cold air is coming from Canada, while warm air is coming from the south. Naturally Buffalo is on the edge with the cold!

This should make for some interesting weather over the next 24 to 48 hours. As most of us know, when warm air hits cold air, interesting things happen, like thunder, lightning, tornadoes, hail, snow! It's calm now, but they're expecting severe winds tonight, cold, a quarter inch or more of ice! Ice storms are so nasty! In general just terrible, terrible weather.

Then tomorrow it's all supposed to melt, and we go back to temperatures in the 40's! God I just want warm spring weather. T-shirt weather. Sit out in the sun and relax weather! My body needs vitamin D weather!

Hope this finds you warm & dry! Wishing for warmer weather in Buffalo NY! Have a great weekend everyone.

Sort:  

great bike

Thanks friend! That's my baby!

Ahhhh to be on two wheels again...! Someday I'll be able to get an FLHR like I used to have a while back. Is this a FXDWG? Nice looking ride. -Respect

Thanks! It's a Honda Shadow 750 Spirit, with a lot of custom work. I'm finding a lot of people who trade and ride. I'd love to put together a crypto run with a bunch of folks online. Meet in the middle of the country and have a bike and crypto meetup! How fun would that be?

Holy crap! Great job man, for real. Your custom work totally paid off. The reason for customizing bikes was to make sure that you could find your own in a lineup of dozens of bikes...you've definitely accomplished that my friend. I would LOVE to go on a big ride again, especially with crypto-folk. I haven't been on two wheels since I sold my Harley years ago to pay for my dog's amputation and chemotherapy. The dog is in heaven now (RIP Loki) and I'm doing my best to save up a bike again. Perhaps this crypto market we are seeing now will be able to help me afford a motorcycle soon! Thanks for the what you do, Dood! -Respect

Thanks man. Sorry about your dog! That's terrible. I bought the bike last year in pretty rough shape. A lot of the custom work was done already. I resurfaced the front forks, cleaned it up, changed out the risers, repainted the hypercharger, and did a bunch of mechanical stuff to it.

I got it last summer around the end of July, right around the time alts started going crazy. One trade with the right coin can do it!

Good luck, and if you pick one up, make sure to let me know. Like I said, I'm really considering a crypto/bike meetup. Start out with a few people, and let the idea grow. Would be great to meet in person on a ride!

Loki was the best dog ever..or at least one of them. He worked as a therapy dog for a few years at jails and residential facilities. He will continue to missed by so many!
The mechanical stuff is often the juiciest part. I'm a big fan of carburetor tweaking, lifter and spring replacement, push-rod and camshaft upgrades, air intakes....oh don't get me started!
I'm hoping that some of the bags I've been packing will pay off. I'm patient..most of the time. I've been doing my best to take advantage of this big dip we've been experiencing and putting some money where my research has brought me.
I'm definitely down for a meet up. That would be awesome. I used to ride up your way back in the day, driving all the way up to Hamilton, NY and further. Started out on an old Yamaha that I rode so hard the exhaust pipes cracked on the way there once! Keep up the great work. -Respect

I desperately need vitamin D weather... 🏍

You and me both!

It's really coming around in Texas :) I had a beautiful ride through Sam Houston National Forest twice this weekend!

Nice, I've been living vicariously through Youtube videos the last few nights. I've been thinking about a dual sport for a vacation this year, and traveling the back roads of Colorado, Utah, and maybe Texas on the way back home. Been checking out some of the riders GoPro videos on Youtube. Any suggestions for scenic back roads to ride in Texas?

The hill country is what is typically raved about the most here. Lime Creek Rd, Park Rd 4, Twisted Sisters (FM 335, 336, 337) are all really good. If you come inside the triangle of Austin/Houston/Dallas then I know most of the roads in that area at this point.

Finally, you got some sunny weather.

Working on it. Hopefully soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87