A wonderful day

in #update6 years ago

Today has been fantastic! My roommate and I went over to a local plant nursery and picked out a bunch of stuff to start a garden. They didn't quite have everything I wanted; they had no snowdrops or bluebells, and the closest they had to a lilac bush was a butterfly bush, but it was still a wonderful haul. Got some aster, bee balm, yarrow, lavender, evening primrose, lily of the valley, foxglove, and moonflower plus a rose bush with the deep, blood red petals, plus some sunflower and catgrass seeds. Plus pots to put them all in, proper potting soil, and some combination fertilizer and an animal deterrent made of pigs blood.

It's too hot right now to go out there and repot everyone and all that, I'll save it for ~3-4 hours from now when the sun is setting or has set and I can work in cooler temperatures. But I'm so happy, I've wanted another garden since I had to leave my last one behind a year ago and this is one great step closer to that. We'll also be growing dandelions for our own culinary use so we know they're done without pesticides and the like and safe to consume.

And, of course, I came back to find out I was one of two winners for steemkitchen's recent contest. A bit sad I can't partake in the next one because I won, because it's all about potatoes. I might cook up a recipe in the spirit of the contest anyway, been thinking a lot about my cousin's mashed potatoes and knowing that I have the recipe so we'll see.

For now, I gotta get up a Tarot Tuesday post and do some other stuff but all in all I couldn't think of a better way to spend my day :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79