Bags of EncouragementsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #upcycling6 years ago

Imgur

"There is a great deal of poetry and fine sentiment in a chest of tea." -Ralph Waldo Emerson

 
I have a friend that is going through a really tough time at the moment. Just as she seems to be coming terms to one trial, another big blow hits her out of no where! I feel so helpless when my friends are suffering through really hard times and I'm unable to do much from my end to help them. The best thing I think one can do is offer one's time and find small ways to encourage them.

My mom-in-law showed me a similar idea to what I created today. She received a tin of tea bags with printed little "inspirational thoughts of the day" attached to the tags. I thought this was such a lovely gift and couldn't wait to try making something like that with my own creative flair to it.

As Sheldon from Big Bang Theory puts it: "Social protocol states when a friend is upset, you offer them a hot beverage, such as tea."
So I thought it indeed a "fine sentiment" to organize a whole jar of chamomile tea to encourage and calm my friend.

UPCYCLE!

Imgur
I didn't have a pretty tin so I decided to upcycle a glass coffee jar and decorate it with some trimmings in my craft box.

Pretty Trimmings

Imgur
I didn't have much in my craft box but these little trimmings seemed to fit perfectly on this little jar and added just the right feminine touch.

Hot Glue

Imgur
I used my glue gun to apply some glue down the length of the fabric and rolled the jar onto it and then applied a decorative purple flower. I burnt myself on the hot glue - be careful folks! DO NOT TRY THIS IF YOU'RE DUMB! (like me - heehee)

Messages of Encouragement

Imgur
Next I found 20 short quotes that I thought would really help my friend and I wrote it onto the back of some scrapbooking paper that I cut to the size of the tea tag and folded it to look like a card. I wrote them all by hand as I don't have a printer at the moment, but it turned out to be a nice touch to have them all handwritten
Imgur
I stuck the messages onto the tags with some selotape and carefully placed the now beautiful triangle tea bags into the jar.

Finishing Touches

Imgur
To finish it off I wrote a little note that I attached with a ribbon.


All that was left now was to enjoy a nice cup of tea and a chat with my buddy..
Imgur

Have you ever felt the hope that a cup of tea brings when you are stressed or in distress? What's your favourite tea?


SB_new.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  
This is a wonderful idea! I have a friend who is going through a similar difficult time, and this would be perfect for her, I think! Thank you for sharing this delightful suggestion with #steemitbloggers 😊

My pleasure! I’m so glad more people are benefiting from this post than even just the steemians reading it! 😘 I hope it encourages your friend greatly!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wonderful idea, very thoughtful gift, I love it! 💕 Favorite tea? Ginger.

Thank you! Hmmmm I love ginger tea too but I like it best with fresh lemon and ginger pieces and some lemon cordial- yum!

Jar recycling with lovely notes attached to tea bags a lovely thoughtful gift @wildwanderer

Thanks Joan :)

That's such a Great idea my dear words are special gifts and i love the coffee jar recycle idea, thanks for sharing. Regards

Pleasure! I’d like to make a printable for the tags still and share it online- just waiting for some time in my schedule 💝

@wildwanderer Love the idea to bring back some good vibes and this is sign of support as well as feeling the hot tea in your body and just enjoying the little present!

Nothing like a cup of tea right! :) thanks for your comment :)

This is brilliant
I love this idea
It makes such great gifts
Thank you for sharing @wildwanderer

Pleasure! Hope you can pay it forward to a friend in need 😘

Such a lovely creation! Very artsy!!! I love it!! 💕💕💕

Posted using Partiko iOS

What an adorable idea. Especially for friends in need, because you never know when a cup of tea can be helpful to just destress after a long day.

I'm actually glad it's getting cold enough out for me to want tea again, tea is the most amazing thing in the world. There's a blend from Adagio that has blood orange, raspberry leaf, and a few other things that I super love and I can't wait to have another cup soon.

Hmmmmmm! That sounds delicious!!! I love fancy unique teas! I’ve had a boood Orange tea before and it was delicious! But that blend sounds awesome! Definitely something super de-stressing about a warm cup of tea!

This is such a thoughtful gift. Personally, I like the handwritten notes, as they add a personal touch that a printed note wouldn't. I would love to borrow your idea, with your permission, of course! #steemitbloggers!

Please do! Pay it forward :)

Thanks! I will!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70