GOLD & STERLING SILVER In Last Night's Curb Recycling Haul!! (+ Dooney & Bourke, Barneys, Michael Kors, iPod... Will Be $580+ Revenue)

in #upcycling5 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I've found a nice piece of jewelry in the curb recycling.

I'm not sure why anyone would toss this, but I'm glad since it'll bring in at least $225.


First, here's the haul pulled during a light drizzle late on a serene night with me practicing my singing skills with nobody around.

Let's zoom in on a Pandora .925 ALE Sterling Silver bracelet with a ton of .925 ALE Pandora charms and spacers.

The 14K Trinity Flower pattern charm is a popular seller... (yo @goldmatters)

After a quick cleaning, these will all look great. Pandora jewelry is a quick flip, even pre-owned.


Check out my cleaning skills...

This was the last substantial piece of Sterling Silver I found in the recycling - vintage Norwegian cuff earrings I sold for $200 to Japan.

Before...


After baking soda, boiling water and tin foil!

Nice, right?


Total revenue expected from this haul = $580 minimum. Not bad for a casual 90 minute stroll for a treasure hunt.

Details on the rest of the haul...

  • Black Michael Kors wallet in mint condition except a tiny scratch on the button will be an easy $40 sale.
  • Dooney & Burke purse in mint condition will sell for $35.
  • Barneys snakeskin passport holder in mint condition with original card stock inside will sell for $40-$50.
  • 2 TB Seagate external hard drive full of a girl's entire computer backups, IDs, files, pics and personal records will sell for $65 after I wipe it. Remember to wipe your data before tossing out electronics!
  • Sonicare toothbrush heads will fetch $35
  • Giro Snowboarding/Alpine Skiing Helmet with all factory stickers intact will be a $50 sale.
  • Copco Cast Iron Skillet from Denmark will sell for $50 if I don't keep it.
  • 8 GB iPod may sell for $20. It turns on but need to test the battery life. I'm more interested in what music is on it.
  • Silver plated ring holder with a dog on it will sell for $20 after a quick cleaning.
  • I needed a tape measure, replacement umbrella, and my AAA batteries in my digital scale died in the morning... PERFECT!

Easy things to ship and most quick sellers.

I found most of this in a few moving boxes where a girl tossed a bunch of stuff from her apartment. These types of "move outs" or purges are easy to spot and are usually easy pickings. There was some other new stuff I could've taken, but they'd have been slower sellers.

Proof:


*I also found this antique Zenith radio and record player (with plug intact) I could've sold for a bit for parts, but I chose to leave it behind to conserve space in my apartment. If it had just ONE special rare part that caps off the record player spindle, that part sells for $200 alone!! Sadly, it wasn't there... but that's the sneaky value I can find that others wouldn't when they walk by this stuff on the curbs all day and night.


Please give this a try if your environment is suitable. It'll be fun and rewarding. Feel free to message me with any success stories no matter how big or small.

Even in the resale business, I overlooked the items sitting in plain sight on my curbs because I wasn't aware/looking for them. Once I literally tripped on them, I saw the opportunity everywhere, and can't unsee the value available for the taking on a regular basis.

As always, let me know if you have any questions or could use some advice. I can also help you value something if you'd like, and teach you how I came to my determination.

Time to go out and look for more!
@steemmatt

Sort:  

holly cow man! theses are some legit money!
nice finds bud :) <3

Great to see you still doing this! You hadn't posted in awhile so thought maybe you'd given it up!

Nice work matt! Do you happen to know what that charm weighs?

Thanks. Nope. I don't have a scale sensitive/small enough to weigh it. The resale price is pretty straightforward on eBay to value it though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68