My current project : Upcycling bedside drawers (Part 1)

in #upcycling6 years ago

Hey you guys!

Sorry I havent been around.

I have to say this has been a brutal summer and I, and Im sure thousands of aussies out there, are looking forward to winter.

On behalf of the aussie contingent on Steemit thats been MIA lately, sorry for not being around. We're all too busy trying to stay alive right now.

Add my crappy internet that keeps cutting out which means I havent been able to upload a vid all week ~ it's been hard being a vlogger lately.

My current project

Despite the ridiculous heat, I have been getting really antsy since I haven't created anything lately and finally decided to tackle the $50 bedside drawers we picked up from gumtree a few weeks ago.

20190129_122926.jpg

I started painting them on Tuesday, which, surprise surprise, not really, was a scorcher of a day. Luckily my brain was working enough that I thought to set the pool up so I could jump in and out all day to keep myself cool.

Did I mention our aircon died a horrible HORRIBLE death on Australia Day? We wanted to die with it...

20190129_132658.jpg

20190129_144725.jpg

The pool worked a treat! It was pretty much the only reason I got through all the priming on Tuesday.

20190129_164458.jpg

Yesterday

Although I did post my project on Facebook and my friends weighed in on the design, I was still unsure on which route to go.

Figuring I just had to start somewhere, I began painting.

20190130_123052.jpg

Thinking of going ombre, I thought Id try the paint colours on solid first then the idea was to start blending the colours together.

20190130_125352.jpg

But once the colours were on I suddenly wasnt feeling the ombre, so.....

20190130_133344.jpg

I then fell in love with the teal and wanted it all teal, but it looked so flat, and dull, and lifeless, so I decided to add some dimension using blue paint, and metallic gold and copper.

20190130_153747.jpg

Here's a closer look.

20190130_154825.jpg

And this is where I'm at today.

20190131_111558.jpg

After adding more layers of colour for the metallic/pearl effect I lost the streaks of copper and I'll be touching it up today.

20190131_111723.jpg

Sorry for the sideways pic, cant seem to get it to stand up. I think the heat got to it too...

I'll also be painting the top teal with the metallic/pearl effect and of course I need to paint the other drawer.

I wasnt confident with what I was doing so thought Id use one as a test piece, no point ruining both drawers right?

This is pretty much me today. I dont know if I'll bother with the pool today (dont really want to get my water bill next quarter lol), but we'll see!

Keep an eye out for part 2 and perhaps a part 3 for steps and instructions on how to kickstart your own upcycling project.

Until then! Have a great Thursday everyone!

🐨

Sort:  

you know what would finish that? A bunch of butterflies! :P

Lolol yeh i need to find a book or something with butterflies cos i aint hand painting them 😱

I'm only looking forward to winter for the rain, the temperature is literally painful to me XD

Air conditioner dying! D: Exactly what you don't need in the middle of summer! Hope you've gotten it fixed now? Yay for the lifesaving pool!

The chest of drawers is looking pretty good already, I love the metallic effect!

Looks good so far. Keep going. I can't wait to see the finished product.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks man! I'm all EHHH about it but like you said.. Keep going.

Hope its a decent temp out your way. Its another sweat fest over here.

It's pretty chilled out here weather-wise.
Stay cool (in more ways than one).
The monthly meeting is tonight and I can't wait to meet up with everyone again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.08% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

BEAUTIFUL!!
And I love the teal color too!

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.678 which ranks you at #1602 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1600).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 237 contributions, your post is ranked at #27.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62