funny enough though.

in #up6 years ago

A friend who's never met me physically calls for the very first time and says, "You sound just like you look in pictures."

"What do you mean?" I ask.

"You look and sound like a really serious person."

I smile.. What a misconception!😁

I made a light joke during a discussion with a friend few days back, to which she so laughed uncontrollably that I began to wonder, "What have I said??"

Actually, the joke wasn't that funny. Only that the mouth from which it came looked too serious (to her) to produce such joke.

The stern, firm look can be deceptive. Very deceptive.

My playfulness and sarcasm can sometimes get to a point where even I don't know if I'm serious or not.😂

Back in the days, I had a room mate who was alike. We treated each other's mess-up in different ways.
Our playfulness would see us doing things like.. Hiding the other person's shoe/phone and joining him to look for it. (Yea, it always felt cool😂).
Putting excess pepper in the other person's food while on fire without him knowing. (The facial expression after taking the first spoon was always one to look forward to😂).
Locking the other person in the room and running away with the keys for hours. (This was my favorite😁).

On a fateful day, he had again misbehaved and as always, I left the room and banged the door behind me. A 'room arrest' was usually my own way of meting out punishment for his many shenanigans.
He kept shouting.. begging.. "Sorry na.. I won't do it again. Somebody cannot even play with you again ni?"

I turned deaf ears and left to attend to a few more pertinent things.

I came back after about 30mins. And just as he heard my voice and footsteps, he attempted opening the door and it did.

"You got me late for my test already, I'll probably even miss it," he said, as he rushed to make up for his lost time.

"Really? But why didn't you leave since?"

"How could I, when there was no one to open the door for me?"

"So who opened it for you just now?" I asked.

"Was it not you?"

"No. I never locked the door in the first place."

"Seriously??"

Yea.. His surprise wasn't unexpected.

He never attempted opening the door cos his mind was trapped in the thought that I locked him up as always.

Many more times than we realise, the limitations that ensnare us are more mental than physical.

You think you can't do well at it only because people have told you how dreadful it is.
They even gave you examples of those who have tried and failed at it. Those with supposedly better prospects and abilities. "If even they couldn't do it, who are you??"
You've probably even tried as well but failed. Now you're discouraged. Your mind is trapped in the thought that you can't do it. The dream is gradually going into oblivion.

Hey, the thought that you can't do it only exists in your mind.

You wouldn't know just how far you can go until you risk going that far.
IMG_20180319_173335.jpg

Sort:  

i upvote you. please upvote me
thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16