Untamed Nature: The Victorian Ivy House of Clarendon Park (When Plants Attack)

in #untamednature7 years ago

In the middle of our street...

The street on which I live hosts many beautiful, old-style Victorian houses which date back to around 1887.
Since then most, if not all, have been converted into apartments, most houses contain 8-10 apartments and flats. They host high ceilings, fireplaces (sadly not in use), basements, some accessible, others have been paved over, old attics which used to be the maids quarters are now modernised whilst keeping their quirky old fashioned wooden beams and designs.

Yesterday my bro @mobbs informed me of a competition by @kus-knee (https://steemit.com/untamednature/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-announces-a-new-contest-featuring-untamed-nature-10-steem-in-prizes) and said it reminded him of a building a few doors down that was covered in ivy and shrubbery when he last came to visit. It even had a rusty old car on the driveway which was enduring the slow process of being eaten alive by the earth tenticles, the ivy.

Most of the houses are being repainted, repaired, and generally refreshed, so this Ivy house certainly stands out and catches the eye. So today I went for a wander and captured some pictures...

20180305_150642.jpg

20180305_150541.jpg

Sadly the rusty car has been taken away, which also meant that the ivy and twisted plants at the front have been trimmed leaving just boring bramble twigs, but I imagine it wont be long until more leaves grow and green things up again.

20180305_160216.jpg

Can you spot the downstairs window?

20180305_160244.jpg

How about now?

20180305_150510.jpg

20180305_160227.jpg

My bro reminded me that the back garden was massively over grown too and if I could go round my friends house, I could get a shot from the balcony.

My friend wouldn't be back from work until it was dark, but luckily I have a spare key... which should be for emergencies only, but I figured it's not every day I want to try and get a photo like this that requires the use of his balcony, so I decided to go and see what state the winter had left the neighbouring 'forest' garden in.

It was pretty boring after all that. All the leaves have died off leaving nothing but brown twigletty stick branches, too much brownness and no angle with my camera could make it worthy of a photo moment...
20180305_160602.jpg

So i Black & whited the scene which I think spruces it up nicely... well nice enough to still get a mention in this post. I like how the surrounding buildings look in B&W.

I noticed the house next door, although not overgrown, still had a tiny attack patch where a tree-thing was creeping across the back roof.
20180305_160805.jpg

If anything, this photo was worth my efforts of climbing the stairs :)

Thanks to @kus-knee for conjuring up this competition and giving me something extra and enjoyable to do today :D

Sort:  

Car picture rummaged up

Yay :D I love it. Something so satisfying seeing nature's puny leaves take over the land :D SO glad you captured this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74