DEFYING ODDS

in #untalented7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians, Sheng here. :)

I was thinking what article will I write, whom someone will appreciate or would even take a pause to read.I want to write something that will embossed a lesson to the reader.
Steemit world is a mix of different ages,so I might share something personal where at least one of my reader will be inspired by my story.

Born from a Filipino culture in a middle class family, and being the first child in the brood of six, made me think that I have an obligation to help my parents in all aspects of life . Basically that is the main reason why I strive hard since my elementary days. I promised myself I will have a College Diploma so it will be easier for me to get a job and help my parents like what my auntie's and my uncle's would always told me, "study hard because you need to help your siblings so that in future all of you will have a stable life." I take this words seriously and it has been tattoed on my mind.

I graduated elementary and high school with honors, thinking it will also be that easy when I step into college. Nobody told me, its 360 degree turn around of adjustments especially if you are taking the course that is not your personal choice ( ENGINEERING)because Psychology is the degree I want to take. I never failed with the curriculum but I am failing myself wanting something that it is not for me, and to save myself from failing I QUIT. I stop studying, eventhough it means hurting the pride of my parents .Despite and inspite of my decision they never questioned me, guilt haunts me, I feel so selfish because I felt that I just throw the money my parents gave me for 2 years, and thats when I promised myself that I will still help them whatever it takes.

I got the change to work in a government institution, and I keep my promise in helping my parents to take my siblings into Higher Education, but the 2 boys next to me also quit from studying, depression is eating me that time thinking I am a failed example to my siblings,but I cannot questioned them as my parents never questioned me, they have their own skill, that enable them to live decently today, still I have 3 siblings to encourage on getting and finishing their College degree, thanks God they all make my parents proud.

(Aside from helping my parents in the province, this is what my 2 brothers do for living. They handle a catering service. They are actually camera shy when they are in uniform.)
FB_IMG_1515752758888.jpg

(the 4th child of my parents Melai, just finished her masteral degree from College of Education)

FB_IMG_1515752543199.jpg

(the 5th child , May Ann, Business Administration Major in Management)
FB_IMG_1515752331495.jpg

(The youngest , Lhucky , Associate in Computer Programming)
FB_IMG_1515752238547.jpg

I thought everything is already okay, seeing my siblings doing good with their respective lives, seeing the smile on my parents face , while I already have a decent and stable job but at the core of my heart there is a hole I didn't even know exists ( my own dream).

I want to build that dream from my childhood. But I don't even know how and where to start.I am working and I am already in the middle age (31). With enough courage I asked permission from my bosses to allow me to study in the morning and work at night, believe me it was not an easy task having an approval from all of them but God is always on my side, wish granted.

The first few weeks of my schooling is quite difficult , tired from night shift work,I will arrived to a classroom where your classmates are all teens and hyperactive and I cannot concentrate with the lessons. It so frustrating, until I realized If cannot beat them why not join them right?? I then became "ate" of the class even some of my professors.

FB_IMG_1515749975382.jpg

When I take all of my major subjects I found my group. A group of working students. A group of person who defy age in terms of schooling. You see no one is too old in fulfilling dreams.

(my set of friends, my classmates and all of us are working students)
FB_IMG_1515751057524.jpg

(during our thesis defense)
IMG_20180112_151934.JPG

It is not a smooth journey, financial struggle is real sometimes my salary is not enough for paying all my bills (house rent, electricity,water,internet , tuition and food allowance). There is also struggle with my health, my immune system got weaker but with the grace of God and my perseverance, after six semester ,with humble pride, I marched on stage wearing black toga. The feeling is too overwhelming, at the age of 33, I got my diploma.

FB_IMG_1515751432488.jpg

FB_IMG_1515751786372.jpg

This is my humble dream, to help my family and to make my parents proud of what we achieved.

FB_IMG_1515751448879.jpg

I never stop dreaming when I first quit, I just change the strategy of fulfilling it. :)

Life was never that easy, but let me leave you with this quote, " A dream doesn't become reality through magic, it takes sweat, determination and hardwork."

Thanks for passing by :)

received_1893860667291347.png

Sort:  

That is truly an inspiring story sis. I want to be like you given the chance i would like to continue my studies as well. That is my dream.

I know how smart you are @ankarlie, you just need the right motivation :)

Thanks ate :)

Thank you for sharing your beautiful story. With God nothings is impossible.

Yes with Him nothing is impossible, we just need to work for our dreams :)

An amazing story of being upbeat even if life is difficult. You are an inspiration indeed and its a shame that people are not voting for these kinds of stories!!!

" A dream doesn't become reality through magic, it takes sweat, determination and hardwork."

Just like Steemit it will take sweat, determination and hardwork to make it happen.

thank you Sir @maverickinvictus, just sharing a piece of me to the readers, there might be someone outhere who needs some encouraging stories.
yes just like steemit, it will take hardwork before reaping success :)

I love your ending. I hope you are happy in life. I love hearing stories about people fulfilling their dreams despite the obstacles in their way.

Did you go into psychology?

thanks for appreciating my story, yeah we are all good , and yes I take Psychology . :)

I'm glad to hear!

Proud of you ate :)
You're a perfect kind of role model . Sacrifices are just in the start of the game and you need to work also with perseverance . After all the sacrifices you have had you will reap your rewardssssss .. 100 % sure.

Thank you. It was indeed a flashback of roller coaster emotions, glad I was able to share it with you guys. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45