Do we really need to go in a different place to build a team?

in #untalented6 years ago (edited)

Team building? Team building-Intervention?

When I've heard that our company is setting a "team building", Honestly? I felt excited. Why? Because of the typical scenarios when it comes to this matter. Who wouldn't be excited?

We're going somewhere.
We will travel outside the town.
We will be having a tasks which is enjoyable.
We will play with our work mates which is unusual.

business-library-team-building_orig.jpg
[Image source : http://www.ccxscape.com/team-building.html]

I am 21 year old, currently working in a company for almost 4 years. This is my first job and I've learned a lot. I've learned about the different matters inside my field. There are positive and negative sides in everyday's 8 hours.

You'll find a family but not everyone is your brother/sister. You're more than willing to stretch a hand for someone but when you're seeking for their hand you'll touch no one. So you'll learn the art of "dedma" (ignoring) even if you're not the kind of this person before. You're doing your job very others may appreciate it but still, other ones will sadly not. You'll meet a lot of "bosses".

There will be a time that you wanna stop going. You will feel alone and down but this is the time where you'll find the real "family" for you. If there's a negative sides, of course there's a positive. A lot of positive things!

During your down times, without seeking for help someone will come. You'll meet a lot of great persons. They will be your motivations. You'll learn to fight in everyday's office life because you know someone's behind your back. You'll meet your weaknesses but will overcome without notice. Other side of your skills and personality will be discovered. You'll improve your self esteem and more..

TEAM BUILDING March 3, 2018 at Bakasyunan Resort & Conference Center, Tanay Rizal.

Here it is! We leaved Caloocan at 7:00 in the morning and arrived the location around 9 am. With sleepy head, I walked straight to the conference hall which is rented by our company. There I saw a lot of tables with the name tags over it. I was like OMG! As I walk looking for my name, I observed that it's all reshuffled! Oh! Did I mentioned that our company team building is composed of 5 different companies? We are "sister group of company". And yeah! just imagine the number of heads and again, the names are reshuffled so every group is possibly composed of the peeps from different companies. Kinda exciting but a part of me is wondering..

Can we apply the "team work" if we didn't know each other?

There I saw my name in table #4. Luckily, i'm with @reginecruz and as expected others are from the other group. We're staring to one another and decided to build a team named "team-angas". Hahahaha! lol. Our first task is the "Mission Impossible". Though we didn't know each other personally, by the help of our name tags. We asked help to one another to build a bridge so all of our team members can cross to the other side. It's really not easy, we tried different techniques but failed. Lastly, with our full force we finally made it!

  • Plan.
  • Strategy.
  • Teamwork.
    28576237_1921509371253496_7635964592182694296_n.jpg
    28576677_1921509014586865_4306373932257136260_n.jpg

The next challenge is another thing. New group and new task called "lava island". 3 inches will be added to your height. The facilitator will put a pen on the marked spot. With the given space for your team, the floor outside the box will be considered as "lava". No one is allowed to touch the floor outside the line. How can you get the pen? Nahh. Though we're in a different shirt's color, we planned and suggested different strategy. We are given 30 minutes to get all the pens, and duh! (Haha yabang!) for about 15 minutes, we're done! Power!
28537106_1606320379405592_1015963588_n.jpg
28537003_1606320599405570_1687569740_n.jpg
28537700_1606318499405780_965579095_n (1).jpg

  • Trust.
  • Strategy.
  • Teamwork.

As the hours goes by, the gap is slowly vanishing. We're smiling to everyone without the fact that we're strangers from one another.
28575925_600246933677025_1470706590954671141_n.jpg

Life map wherein you'll draw your "life map" including your ups/downs since birth is the most hard task for me. After you draw, you'll be in a new group to share your life's story. I was like geez! Do I have to do this? Do I really have to tell them? I'm not the kind of a person who's telling something about my personal life. I really hate it. But here it is again, no matter how someone inside me is protesting. No choice. Let's do this! We're all group into 6. As everyone's starting to tell a story about their lives. The whole room was poured by tears. I looked around, all eyes are busy staring to their group mates crying. All are teary eyed even me. I didn't want to cry but I can't help it. We comfort each other as we heard everyone's life. Still, this task ended up with a smile. (Thank god! It's over!)
28472158_1813286758717571_2158728565189922448_n.jpg

Lastly, I just saw myself sitting in a dark room blindfolded. (I saw myself blindfolded? Hahaha! Idunno how to explain. Basta ayun!) I was tensed, whats going on now? The song stopped me from my thoughts. "You are my hiding place". I cried. I can't help it. I cried there under the blindfold, I don't care if someones looking at me. (I remember something with this song.. My dad.. and it hurts) Someone gently patted my back. The next minute, someone whispered "It's okay. stop crying na..", the next whisper I've heard is saying an apology.. I got it, our office mates are sitting behind our back leaving their messages. The light is on, finally! I feel like my eye is swollen but i'm with a big smile. It just feel so good to hear those words. Those unspoken words from the persons i'm with 8 hours everyday.

To finish the day, we just listened to the speaker. He inspires us to work hard for our company and motivates us to apply the teamwork in everyday's life. To make the story short though it's too long na. Hehe! This day is really unforgettable, with the help of team bonding activities the work's projects that involve team works improves quickly. After completing team building activities together, employees better understand each other’s strengths, weaknesses, and interests.This kind of event can motivate employees to bring their job to the next level. This understanding helps them work even better together on future progress vital to a company.

Going back to the thing that I wanted to point out.

"Do we really need to go somewhere to build a team?"

DO WE REALLY NEED TO?
These words marked something inside my head. If I weren't attended that day, my answer will be YES surely. I just realize that its a NO. Yeah it is no, we don't need to go outside to build a team. Because the company inside is the one who needed it. Where we seat now is the perfect place to start a team building. We must apply the team work, strategy and the motivations everyday. Successful team building in
the workplace often translates into success for everyone. It is not difficult and does not require you to go out of your way or do anything extraordinary as a common man.

"A boat doesn’t go forward if each one is rowing their own way" ~ Swahili proverb

28685539_600204480347937_4290768285701720324_n.jpg

Thank you for dropping by!
#steemitpowerupph @steemitfamilyph
Yhien <3

neihy05.png
26239258_1903480356329378_4288845262119346990_n.jpg
26761374_1801767746531534_4899909754559660032_n (1).gif

Sort:  

Looks like everybody had fun while learning. Thanks for making this post as detailed as possible. I see you are already using some basic formatting techniques. Please check @steemnest lessons for aligning images to the left, right, and center along with other basic text formatting. Steem on!

Yay! It's a big help. I'm actually looking for it. Thank you so much po. :) <3

right on! :) but what if everyone is rowing in their own direction, but its all up.. like all steemians?! :)

Because even we're rowing on different directions, we're fighting for one goal with one heart. :)

nice post there @neihy05 .. I remember my team building experience as well, it is a way to connect and build up trust with each other its a good experience. :) need to see more of your awesome posts. good luck my fellow citizen

It really is! This is actually my first team building experience and you're absolutely right. That was awesome! A single day can build a strong trust and team work in order to success. Thank you for dropping by po! :) See you around. <3

yeah but still even if it was meant to build a team, there are still some that doesnt involve that much with but then again its alright a few friends is better than none 😁

Hey there! You were featured on the #63rd edition of steemitfamilyph's featured posts. Congratulations!

Yay really?! Thank you so much my ohana! <3

I love team building! Maraming nabi build jan: trust, unity, harmony, friendship, pwede rin pag-ibig. Dahil jan, nakilala q ang aking irog, kaso walang forever, kaya naghiwalay din kami. 😂🤣

Btw, congrats on being featured in @steemitfamilyph 's page. Keep up the good work!

Yessss! Really? OMG! Paano? Paano? haha! na speechless ako, I was about to congratulate you tapos nawasak sa next letters. </3

Wait for the next team building and you'll surely find him na. Doon magmumula ang forever. ;)

Thank you po. I will. <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Yhien (neihy05) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71