Teardrops For A Hero : A TRIBUTE TO MY WONDERFUL FATHER

in #untalented6 years ago (edited)

10391594_102772963073931_3997052_n.jpg

It was at the break of dawn when the phone rang, my heart was pounding!!! Hours before, I had been talking to my dad over the phone to say goodbye with lots of sadness and depression, lots of tears in my eyes. I was hoping I could still see him before he passed... but, too late. I was not able to get a flight on time because his stage four cancer diagnosis came too quick and was a shock for all of us. There was not even a hint that he was suffering pains or symptoms of his illness.

10391594_102743356410225_821137_n.jpg

One of my brothers got his cellphone near his ear and increased its volume so he could hear my voice. The whole family and relatives were there on his bedside. We had a long talk but I was the only one doing the talking though and he just listened with heavy breathing. Something prevented him to talk... it must have been the pain in his chest , I could hear his hard breathing. I asked his forgiveness that I left home to pursuit my own life in Europe. I talked to him about my mom, who was bedridden.. that she will be well taken care of and that he had nothing to worry about. My brother said that Dad shed tears while listening to what I was saying and said that my Dad had somehow a smile on his face as if he was contented that I was able to say goodbye to him.

10391594_102743349743559_1169658_n.jpg

And so, I composed the poem below as my tribute to him, my Dad... my hero.

A FAREWELL TO FATHER DEAREST

my brother´s words hit like daggers in my ears
tagged with anguish that no one hears
dark nights strangled hope that dares
what worse thoughts have I for tomorrow
the truth will soon betray as big a sorrow
thinking of you looking so pale
trembled me again and again in scale
now easily stood all my tears
repeated prayers helped not my fears
for all I knew time shapes the end
it was God´s commission I let it tend....

you´ve helped me shaped-up my dreams
though we´ve crossed so many streams
I remember so very well
whichever path I chose to seal
away from home was no ordeal
´tis your virtue so thankful I´ve been
for it guided my journey surely you´ve seen
our childhood days a bundle of joy
´twas your songs that we´ve dearly enjoyed
having you as father others gratefully admired
it was a fortune every child desired....

I stand before you oh father dearest
my heart bears a grief
fallen have I into uneven way a darkest
your life for me is such a brief
but your wisdom will give me a belief
knowing when each day a mischief
your thoughts are mighty a relief
go fort beloved soul for you have
the safest way the Creator had set
to our departed loved ones
which you´ve surely now met....

I ask of you bear this in mind
rest assured she´ll be fine
that mother to you I rhyme
she´ll be well taken care of all the time
I embrace and bid you now farewell
though there are still so many tales to tell
our stories will continue later if you will
in another life where you now dwell
so lay in peace with our beloved
soon we´ll be there with you embedded
for lapse in time the days will come
face to face rejoice we shall overcome.

Sort:  

Though our loved ones perish they will never be forgotten and will always be missed and loved. Death is a constant reminder for us to enjoy life for while we can, and live life to the fullest. There are no words befitting to console your troubled heart at the moment ma'am but please find solace in the fact that he is now in a better place, away from the pain and suffering that the living world had given him. May he rest in peace and find pleasure in the arms of the Father! My sincere condolences ma'am.

@jamesanity06

Thank you so much @jamesanity06 for your beautiful comments. Indeed , he is in the hands of the Maker.,,, no pain and no sorrow.

Losing someone dear to us is always painful. Although I have not experienced it myself I can only imagine how painful it must have been. I know no amount consoling can mend your grieving heart right now but rest assured that your that he is in a better place.

Many thanks Ani.

My deep condolence po. I pray for everyone’s healing. This will be a tough ride for you and you’re family but i do believe that God’s healing will interced in due time. God bless you all.

Thank you @appleskie. I am sure that all my beloved family members who are gone will reunite above and with that I´m glad at any rate that my dad isn´t alone in his paradise right now.

That’s the spirit maam @mers! Indeed he’s with his family up there and surely in the paradise. 😊

Youre so strong maam that you can able to write all of this despite the pain inside. I cant manage to read the poem </3 i know how it hurts. The pain of losing the most important man in our lives is unbearable. You are still lucky that you even talked to him before his final breathe, you set him free with a smile and contented. He is surely proud of you as his daughter. My father passed away last christmas, Dec.25 , 2017. Until now, i cant write, i cant set my brain to think of what i can share to this platform.

Hi @neihy05... thanks for your wonderful comments... I am so sorry to hear about your dad, my heartfelt condolences to you and to your family... As a piece of advice, why not write about him, how he was like, how he cared for everyone, all the good deeds he had done.. I´m sure it will help you a lot...

This is really saddening. Condolence kababayan..

@mers, wonderful tribute to your great father by you in a lovely and respectable way. very nice poem. May GOD shower his blessings on him in heaven. (ameen.)

I know the feeling kabayan, stay strong! You can overcome this, we are with you. May you always remember him. Condolences Kabayan.

Thank you so much..

A salute to your father as he deserves much respect. The poetry is beautiful! Remember that he will see the Lords beautiful face and he will be in the most Glorious place. prayers to you and your family in your time of grief.

Hi @gails-word-syrup. Indeed ! There´s nothing more beauriful than be up there with the Lord. Thank you my friend.

very heart breaking mam, or can I call you ate po ba? if you don't mind.. it really doesn't matter "who" passes away, ama, ina, kapatid, anak, lahat may pain. Pain that is just so unbearable yet I'm proud of us who are now able to write about our departed loved ones. This tear will be rewarded ate.

Of course you can call me ate! And you are right... after 3 brothers, mom and dad and 1 niece. so much pain is there when you lost someone. Thank you!

This is an @originalworks

Thanks Tim.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99