Catcalling and Street Harassment

in #untalented6 years ago

808B3501-6867-48D7-AE32-43A3DD9CA657.png
Image source

Everyday since I was a teenager, I always feel a sense of anxiety when I go out alone in the streets. Whenever I just go out to go to the store and buy something I feel eyes following my every move. Even if I wear baggy pants and loose shirt guys still stare at me. It was ingrained in my mind that it’s normal for guys to stare and catcall. And when they do catcall you, you can’t do anything about it. You just let it pass. But as I grew up I realized catcalling and street harassment shouldn’t be tolerated. As I matured the harassment became more evident and troublesome for me as a woman.

Whatever I wear there would always be catcalling, even if I’m wearing my uniform which consists of white blouse and pants that are not fitted. I also always wear a jacket even if it’s hot outside just because I think that would stop them from harassing me but it makes no difference. I realized that it’s really hard being a woman in today’s society. I mean guys also experience this but let’s be honest, women experience it day to day.
1C0D5847-696C-4F1A-900B-49FBBB7988B0.jpeg
Image source

Near our house is a small eatery where there’s unlimited rice and the prices are cheap. That’s why it’s a hit especially for taxi drivers. In order for me to ride a jeepney going to school, I need to pass by that eatery. And every time I pass by someone would always catcall. They would say: “Miss ganda ganda mo ah” (Miss you’re so beautiful), “Hi Miss,” “Hello Miss ganda ng umaga dahil nakita kita” ( Hello Miss. The morning seems beautiful because I saw you). So whenever I pass there my day would always be ruined because of those guys. I feel so powerless.
F13007C9-552D-4877-B06A-6D0D0630E455.jpeg
Image source

One time my mother asked me to go to one of her friend’s house to get something. She was tired that day so ahe can’t go there anymore. It’s a 5minute walk from our house so it was okay. By the way, I was wearing a long sleeved dress that isn’t fitted and falls down until my knees. I was also wearing leggings under that. When I was halfway there, a big group of guys were on the way. While I was near them I heard one of them comment on my breasts. All of them laughed and stared at me. It was so infuriating but I can’t confront them or do anything because they might hurt me. When I was going back that way, I had no choice but to pass there again because the other way is too dark. I waited for a few minutes thinking that they might be gone already but they were still there. I just walked fast and yet again, another comment from their group. I ignored them because I was too concerned with my safety. I didn’t realize when I reached home that I was already crying. I even got mad at my mom because she asked me to go out. But it really isn’t her fault. No one should go out and be afraid that someone would be there to harass them, may it be with words or actions.

Recently while I was walking in our street, a van was approaching me. I noticed that the van was slowing down while it came nearer. The expression on the faces of the driver and the passenger is already too familiar for me. I already know that they’ll say something that would again ruin my day. The van suddenly stopped beside me and the passenger said, “Miss beautiful, kunin ko number mo” (Miss beautiful, can I get your number?). I remember that I promised myself that I wouldn’t just stand by when I’m being harassed, I needed to do something. So when those words left the lips of that guy harassing me, I punched the side of their van really hard. After that the van suddenly jolted and went on their way. I hoped that it left a dent just like how every harassment left a dent inside of me.
A5539817-B82B-4876-BB26-E4114446EB11.jpeg
Image source

Those are just a few of the catcalling that I experienced. If I could write about all of those experiences, I don’t think I can write it in a week. It’s sad when you think about it, when people just accept it because it’s deeply ingrained that it is already normal. I’m so tired of hearing people say “Boys will be boys.” A real man knows his limits and knows how to respect women.
1D2F92E0-6B54-4176-BB6E-CA166E9D783E.jpeg
Image source

It’s hard because I want all of those who catcalled me and harassed me to be reported but there’s no law yet in our city on street harassment. While I’m waiting for that law to be implemented, I decided I shouldn’t tolerate it anymore. I would take action whenever it would happen to me. I hope when it happens to you, you’d do something about it too.
BA56FF45-DCF9-4294-850C-B2867B1D304B.jpeg
Image source


62BEBEE0-1928-4FF4-BDBC-0C498D1205B1.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi
I followed you .
catcalling should be punished!!!!

I'm waiting for the day when they will be punished.

Followed you back 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.35
ETH 3900.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63