WHO AM I? #UntalentedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #untalented6 years ago (edited)

  

Hi Steemians!  🤗

If you can still remember, I already posted an #introduceyourself blog, I shared with you my blogging life, student leadership and my interests or hobbies. This time, I'm about to share with you what I really do on a daily basis. With this, you will really know who am I. 🙂
(if you haven't read my #introduceyourself yet, you can check it
here)
This is my entry for @surpassinggoogle's #Untalented Contest: Who am I. 




WHO AM I?  


“I need to be productive today!”  
That’s the first thing that comes to my mind every time I wake up at 4 o’clock in the morning. With just 2-3 hours of sleep, I need to face again another day full of surprises, realizations and challenges.


 One hour for a guy like me is enough to prepare my things to go to school. Going to school, I ride a bus wearing a white polo and navy blue slacks, with a backpack and a pair of leather shoes. As I walk along the busy streets in Manila by a bunch of street children, by-standers and other students, I set my eyes on the road thinking about the responsibilities that await me. I cross the walkway and hang my I.D on my neck before I could finally enter Adamson University. Then, I walk again to the hallway of ST and OZ building, see familiar faces, say hi and hello, search for my classroom, and find a comfortable seat. There goes the tired and wasted little John. Hahaha 


That’s my everyday routine before I could finally open my backpack, take down notes, listen to my professor, and learn some formulas and equations. Admittedly, there are times when responsibilities are still hunting you while you’re calculating some math problems. Imagine facing that struggle six times a week with five subjects a day. Well, sometimes I feel like I’m already worn out, but most of the time, I let my poise and composure speak for me. When I attend a three-hour class, half of the period is spent for “legit” studying, and the other half is actually the so called “extra-curricular activities” – by making event proposals, making sponsorship letters, fixing org requirements, plus all those nonsense stuff that should be done during vacant period. (At least I was honest) 


Yes, it’s true. It bores me when I just seat inside our classroom, listen to what my professor is saying and trying to absorb everything while waiting for my nose to bleed. After that, there’s a chance that there will be a surprise quiz after the discussion, Identification? Matching type? Multiple choice? Essay Writing? It’s a no to any professor in engineering, it will always be the prove-the-equation type, find-the-variable type and my forever problem – problem solving. Hahaha. I am aware that surprise quizzes are part of the process of being a great engineer. What a relief, I have good blockmates: “United we stand, divided we fall”. If you know what I mean. Hahaha 


After taking a break, I busy myself in doing my homework for my next subject, or maybe study the next lesson, or even practice some math problems. But, for a long vacant period, my favorite place will always be the PSAU office where event planning, brainstorming and event preparation happen. No matter the circumstance, I can’t help but find myself in the confines of the PSAU office. This is the perfect place to do all my tasks for our organization. Truth be told, my mind works faster and I think I am better in doing org works than solving math problems.  


Even if I want to just sleep in peace, I don’t have any choice but to go back being an engineering student, listen to my prof, take down notes, solve math problems, take difficult exams, and wait for my nose to bleed – same old process. I can’t just leave all the responsibilities behind then do it later. Time is the most precious thing and sleep is not in the choices of a student-leader like me. 


Why do you choose to walk through the path less taken – the life of a student leader? That’s a question that I can’t even answer.  


There always comes a point where I tend to neglect my studies just to finish my organizational responsibilities. Many people will try to stop me, even my family, in serving my fellow students but here I am, already in my third year of being a student leader and I think it has become my calling. God put me in this situation where I can share my ideas, efforts and talents to all my co-officers and most especially to our members.  


Life of a student-leader like me is tough but it’s not hell. I may be bitter at times when there are difficult exams, approaching deadlines, failing grades and upcoming events but the good thing is I accept them as part of what I got myself into. I always remember what my teacher back in high school tell me, “Don’t complain, just work harder.” 


Three years of student leadership is three years of ups and downs. These are the years of challenges, rejections, and heartbreaks but it is also the year of accomplishments. I may be weak and I may get tired at times. However, to be honest, I am a learner. A lot of things happened to me and that made me who I am today:  smart, hard-working, brave, competent, and dedicated.  


Well then, I am @johnalexius
This is my world.
I’ll live, I’ll serve, and I’ll leave a legacy.  


Sort:  

Welcome

Welcome to steemit!
I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnalexius to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you so much for the tips and the support @welcome-to-steem! I will make sure to read your blogs. You have earned a follower! Thank you! :)

hii dear @johnalexius, welll come to #untalented family, where everyone is doing according to his talent and skills. very nice article you written and introduction is so fine. Here you learnt a lot and met many great and kind leaders like @surpassinggoogle, who do a,lot and also doing a great at any time for all, his kindness and generosity has no limits. i wish you best of luck. keep it up.

Hi @rabeel! That's right, since I joined steemit. @surpassinggoogle and the #untalented family have been so supportive. I'm so excited to learn more and meet new people. Thank you for your much needed support! 😊

Loading...

Hi @johnalexius! I love your motivational post. You are a very good example to each and every youth. Never back down and use your failures as stepping stones to achieve your goal. I will be watching out for you. Keep it up and thank you for being such a gem.

Love,
IAV :D

P.S. following you for more!

Yes, that's one of the things I'm aiming right now, to be a good example to my fellow youth. Thank you for the reminder that we should not stop dreaming and believing. Thank you for your support @iav! 😊

You're welcome. I'm wishing you all the best. If you like, you can read this short poem of mine and let me know what you think. https://steemit.com/poetry/@iav/poetry-2-stop-and-look-around. Good luck on your journey!

Pleased to meet you johna. :)
All the best for the contest!

good luck with the contest!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by johnalexius from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Can't wait for the next sequel. :)

Very well said! I admire you for your dedication. That's a good thing to keep up doing things you love the most.
Great post anyway! Like your writing style.. Welcome to the untalented family! Cheers to that buddy...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05