What does it take? - When people think it's easy but not really

He asks me to write without sugar sprinkles so here you go!
FB_IMG_1523251545769.jpg

One of the most annoying/ hurtful and stressing things people have ever told me were:

💢Ano ba Jazz?!!! Ikaw ba ito? Anong nangyari sayo? bakit ganon performance mo?
"Jazz! What happened? Is this you? what's wrong with you?!" -runway coach

💢Jazz nakadungog gud ko'g nag chismis sa imo diri sa HCDC
May Chismis akong narinig sayo dito sa HCDC
(This is a university different from mine, gossip travels far)
"I heard someone gossip about you here at HCDC (Holy Cross Davao College)"

💢So, why did you lose? -University President

💢"Are you sure you're making the deadline? There's always a next time." - Art professor

💢After making an artwork you are proud of and you suddenly get:
"Ang pangit naman ng ginawa mo, useless"
What you made is ugly, useless

💢"Waste of time"

💢"You still look fat"

💢"They're just tall, but they don't play basketball that good" - Team mates

💢"You're just a cry baby"

💢"You can't be the priority right now, next time, I promise"

💢"She said something about you being weak, yes"

Okay

I have always been the kind of person who always looks at the bright side of everything even when there's not much to see. It applies with people.
I don't choose my friends simply because nobody should ever be marginalized, I'd rather be approachable rather than untouchable.

However, life taught me that there is a limit to how open and forgiving you can be. Because simply, people do not reciprocate the same kindness, fairness and equality you show them.

  • Some of the most hurtful things can come from the people closest to you.
  • Some come from people who you don't expect to hear it from.
  • Some come from people who you always hear from but wished they never talked that way.

In any case, my efforts to grow and develop myself have not always been welcomed and understood in the best way.
I hear more than people know, I just let it pass the other ear.

FB_IMG_1523251557316.jpg

People always see shortcomings instead of blessings.

I'm wondering how to start again

Often times we plan our future, we are fueled to achieve our goals. Sometimes I am confused at what my goals really are.
I am not even sure what my favorite color is. It seems that I lack of discernment for things I want.

Too much curiousity and exploration, it is eating my time and producing nothing. Yet I am unsettled. Wondering if there's more and I continue wandering off.

Industries of Harsh and Pressure

Before I met steemit I had been a part of two of the harshest industries.

Visual Arts & Fashion Industry

First of all, expectations are high in both fields and often times I was discouraged at how I could not cope with the demands
Added to that are high chances of being belittled, insulted and taken for granted

It was proof of how friends can betray you and turn stories around against you.
FB_IMG_1523263931668.jpg
Mindanao Association of Tertiary Schools regional competition 2014 (MASTS) @jacinta.sevilla with make up artist Rodni Varquez

Walking with 7 inch heels is not easy. Walking with big heavy props and doing a cat walk on an unsteady stage is nothing to laugh about. It looks easy and fun to see, the crowd cheers or boos easily but, beauty is painful to bear. Plus, shouting at each other backstage does not help.

Drawing on the other hand requires time and a booming creativity. Which I feared I did not have enough of.

I felt really discouraged whenever I could not join an exhibit or when I am told by some individuals that my techniques or concept was lacking, ugly or probably just a waste.

Sometimes critique is way too offensive, it makes you give up on everything.

FB_IMG_1523264572243.jpg
Puzzle Art by Joseph Marc Aquino

I feel like that dead bunny in the picture. In the art industry, it's messy but presents art neatly, you get what I mean? My art professor said once it is a dog eat dog world. Now I know.

So where do I place myself now? Where do I really belong? If my art wasn't as good as theirs and I wasn't the top model agencies demand.

FB_IMG_1523265109154.jpg
I really wanted to graduate with a fine arts degree but I was not strong enough to hold on to that.

FB_IMG_1523265367136.jpg
And the fashion industry just rips off your self esteem.

I can't seem to "be" what people are looking for. No matter how hard I try.
And a few improvements don't matter since they are bypassed.
That's why I always extreme into training myself when I am trying to improve my art.

Steemit

FB_IMG_1523263051724.jpg
Let me share how-

  • I am not confident
  • I am still in a journey of finding out how my art can have that big break or really professional level
  • I still want to master a lot of mediums
  • My friends still encourage me to pursue fashion, I don't mind though, but I don't think I place well.

I have been disappointed with so many people and I don't trust people easily anymore. In fact it feels a bit hard to completely open up like this but it helps to vent it out.

Steemit was introduced to me by @thecrimsoncomet September 2017.

When he told me about it, I was a bit hesitant to blog but he said it would just like posting anything about art.

I am very glad I gave it a go!

Steemit helped me interact with a community that had a lot of positivity to offer. It's hard to be in a community where you feel insecure and be put down just because doing your best is not appreciated. I think maybe we all had an experience where we've been told "that's all you can do?" Oh well.

But not here, I am rediscovering myself here and renewing my path.

Meeting strong individuals that inspire me to be stronger @mermaidvampire, @olivia08
My friends who are with me struggling, @fukumineko, @korinkrafting
My ever so supportive friends too like @joyjoyharb and @ankarlie
Amazing people that set a good example of perseverance and leadership
@dandalion @steemitph @long888 @jassennessaj @surpassinggoogle and @anomadsoul.

NO IT'S NOT EASY

Nothing is easy.
I don't have to focus on negativity but on improvements. What does it really take? Just perseverance and trusting

I am happily blogging my art
FB_IMG_1523273903855.jpg

and diligently digging deeper on environmental conservation efforts. On how we can be more responsive to negative changes in the climate.
FB_IMG_1523273721289.jpg
For now, this is what I can offer and work on. I'm glad people still appreciate it.

It's hard to let go of frustrations, standards and it just wears me off.

I think I'm content of my achievements. I do aspire for more but I can't bite off more than I can chew specially if my schedule, daily activities and body can't handle it.

I'm happy with the few contests I get to join in steemit and outside steemit.
FB_IMG_1523274011377.jpg

Surreal art contest by @sethlinson

FB_IMG_1523264501151.jpg

Philippine Japan Festival 2017 contest held by Mindanao Kokusai Daigaku, Davao City ミンダナオ国際大学

Learn to Let Go

And know there's a place for you and people who will stick with you no matter what

Gosh, there is so many things I want to do, so many places I have to travel to, many pieces to draw and paint, many languages to learn and speak and many activities to organize for environmental care.

Am I too ambitious for my own good, too much of a dreamer? Too competitive?

Maybe if I am this way, I should expect all kinds of harshness from the world.

FB_IMG_1523262994622.jpg
It is not easy to forget, theres always anxiety and fear.
But I will not let go of my aims to have many more art exhibits to join and to make my own large scale art.

PhotoGrid_1523275399736.jpg
I wait that I'll realize that people can still be trusted, that I can still be productive and accomplish many things, that I can do many things that my family and friends deserve and I wait for the time when I never lose hope because it's like I easily run out of it.

I know feelings can be overwhelming, depression, frustration and pressure to do this and that, responsibilities.
Then I see animals being killed for fun and pollution etc. It just pisses me off.
What is happening to this earth?

Sometimes escape seems better, sometimes you wish you'd just die but no, I've got so much to do.

focus on the bright side

Thank you!

I've not expressed this much to anyone in a long time. Not like they have to know my troubles. But showing how I am frustrated with many things, some things are not as easy as it looks. That even with my ability to draw, I feel like it's not enough or making a difference.

I still feel untalented. 🙃🙏✨and a loser. I don't think it will ever go away.
If you didn't know or didn't see this coming, I'm just good at hiding it.

One chance to post

If I were to have a super duper awesome popular post, it would be something people can enjoy and learn from. Like a giant artwork that has the concept for the love for life.

Thank you @surpassinggoogle for the nudge

Bloggers have the power to speak and be heard!!! We have the capability to reach out and help.

📝 Thanks for the impeccable leadership Terry.
Take care.

Finished

😱IT IS IMPORTANT TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES☝️
I recommend these
@steemgigs
@blocktrades
@precise
@cloh76.witness
@ausbitbank

SOME AWESOME BLOGGERS
You don't want to miss😉
@gems.and.cookies
@anomadsoul
@surpassinggoogle
@bayanihan
@topkpop
@sirsensei
@hiddenblade
@juliakponsford
@juliank
@bayanihan
@deveerei
@korinkrafting
@fukumineko
@vocafrost
@noellesevilla
@kneelyrac
@sukiyakii
@sethlinson
@helene
@mattphilleo

🦄✨❣️🌼
Proud member of
#steemph
#artguildph
#untalented
#steemitachievers
#steemitbloggers
#gratefulvibes
#steem-cartoon

That's all folks!
XOXO 💋
@jacinta.sevilla
20180326_194801.gif
received_10214586986052169.jpegDQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png
Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I'm glad to have read this, gang. We all have a story of hurt and of love to tell but it takes courage and, as you've said, a nudge to share those. You are awesome and I hope you realize your full potential, not just as a model or an artist, but as a beautiful creation of God, in His perfect time. hugs

Thank you ate :) si God na bahala gyud. XD
Padayon lang gud. Ienjoy lang

♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️👏👏👏👏👏

The fashion and modelling industry is indeed a tough world. I feel you. We walk in the same shoes. I even tripped on the stage twice while doing a show. But never let this people's criticism put you down. They judge you because you are at the stage while they sit on the bench. Go chase your dreams girl!

Halaaaa.
Aray ive never tripped but i broke my heels on stage once.
And the other snapped while practicing. Good thing i didnt fall xD some of the girls managed to support me.

You too hope you catch your dreams well and right. Its just that for me, everything is frustrating. Lalo na kapag sinadya na matalo haha yun kasi nangyari sakin, chineat yung scores.

And so on with other discouraging things. People are just haters sometimes. Nakakainis.

But thank you :)

Gooosh! Na try ko na rin yan! Almost lahat ng pageants ngayon politics na rin talaga eh. Kakainis. Pero duh, as long as presentable ka sa stage and you did your best, malalaman at malalaman naman talaga na luto yung show.

Oo Tama ka jan hehe :) bahala na sila T.T

"You still look fat." Lol. Is that from me? XD

Nah hahahaha nope

Just reading about the general way people act with words, breaks my heart. It makes me wish women had a good alternative life option.

Thank you maam @jacinta for mentioning me .Yes i am strong but there are time that i am also weak.The experienced I had in my life made me the strongest woman..Go for your dream...dont be afraid you have a great talent to be proud of....God bless you inday..

Maka inspire pud ka :) you're welcome po.

God bless you! Hehe mejo ulaw man mag share pero oks haha.

I feel you. I feel that sometimes too. When people tend to just look down on you even if you already did your best. It hurts to be treated like that. But that is just how life is. We must never give up. We just have to stand up after we fall and continue to reach the things we want to achieve. :)

Very true!!! :) We cant always expect people to see things from our view...

First of all, i want to thank ma'am @dandalion and sir @steemitph for introducing @jacinta.sevilla, because if not for you two i wouldn't be able to meet an incredible artist like her.

People always see shortcomings instead of blessings.

i think this is very common and very widespread all over the globe, regardless of race or nationality there will always be people like that. of the the hundred good deeds you did it will always be overlooked by one single mistake by these kinds of people. you will always be judge not by your achievement but rather by your mistakes.
so i really commend you ma'am Jass for not giving up but instead you endured and look at you now. you are already successful to those who admired you like your family, friends amd even strangers. 😊

continue inspiring people maam and this world is blessed to have people like you. Fighting!

Wonderful photos excellent blog and very nice work i appreciate ur work thank you very much

Thank you very much for your positivity and appreciation!

🙏🏼💭🌼🌿♥️✨ Have a great day!

Haters gonna hate Jacinta so why stop yourself from doing things you enjoy?

What their opinion of what's good or bad is simply their opinion - that's all it is. It changes into something more if you give their opinion weight.

I personally don't share that opinion and I have watched you for a while and know you to be extremely humble, have a kind heart and youre talented.

Ignore them. They're not worthy ❤

Hi @bearone

I cannot please everyone and Sometimes people are just good at seeing the negative.

You're right, I should just keep going and appreciate those who do stick by my side ♥️🌼🌿💪

Be strong.

God bless and steem on!

Thank you for the kind comment 🙏🏼
Steemph family is so kind and supportive.

God has store something great in your life, why did he allow you to experience pain? because He believes that you are a strong woman and He wants you to surpass all those trial because at the bottom of this trial road sun shines for you.. Be courages enough to step forward.. those trials will paid off soon.. Hold on Aja!!!! God believes in you so believes in your self you are wonderfully and beautifully made by him dont forget that.. 😍

Hi there. Yes we all go through different tests that make us grow.

I have a lot to be thankful for.
I dont mind those haters. I just keep on doing my best :)

God bless you!
Aja!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70