Dear Diary: There Is One Thing I Am Afraid Of

in #untalented7 years ago

P_20171118_173006_BF_1_1.jpg

My dialysis nurse is always reminding me to take my Calcium supplement three times a day every time I am asked about how am I doing from the last visit, do I have something to complain about and all that interview so they can check what is the problem and relay it if necessary to our Nephrologist who is most of the time not able to see me.

Taking a Calcium supplement had been an issue for me in a few instances regarding a bad form of constipation. It is not that I cannot poop, it is just that my poop is so hard it just can't get out. The culprit was the Calcium supplement that I did take and it was so stressful in the toilet that it took not a few minutes to relieve myself. In a few instances I did use some form of help to get it out myself and I don't want to tell it here really, okay I used my fingers.

So with those experiences it scared me to take Calcium supplement even though I know that my body needs it and badly. The first time I halted using Calcium supplement was when I found out that my chests was beginning to calcify as shown on the laboratory x-ray when I was being examined in a hospital a few years ago for my requirements in my request for medicines. Right there a weaned myself a little from taking much Calcium supplements.

But what stopped me really fro taking Calcium was the constipation it does to me. The poop was so hard it really can pass out. So after a few bouts of those terrible constipation experiences, iI did stopped completely I just waited for things to get uglier for my bones which it did. Now I am taking Calcium again because I just needed it for my bone regeneration. A friend just recently told me to take it with food and that is what I am doing right now and hope my fear of a bad constipation won't ever happen again.

Sort:  

Talk to your nurse about taking magnesium. It cannot be taken WITH the calcium, it will block calcium absorption. However, if you take calcium in the morning, then magnesium (Epsom salts are FINE) in the evening, it should help you tolerate the calcium without getting backed up.

I am a dialysis patient and magnesium might get overloaded in my system @fishyculture
This complicates matters as i also have some intestinal disorder too which magnesium could magnify.

So sorry... You are what we used to call "a medical train wreck." When you have so many health problems that you cannot treat one without aggravating another. Best of luck to you!

I think that taking the supplement together with food is much better than taking it alone as you friend said. Some fruits or vegetables could be good because there are fibers inside that help for better digestion. Perhaps some kind of oil also, it has helped me a lot in similar situations! Take care @cryptopie!

Thank you for your suggestions @theodorelib
I was not taking much fiber in my diet befor so now I think I must.

When I was younger I was too facing digestive problems. Fibers together with oil helped solve the problem so that is what I suggest with my minimal knowledge.

Such a wonderful post. God bless you @cryptopie!

Demand the magnesium!!

I can't just pop in magnesium in system.

No you can't but maybe ask for milk of magnesium or have someone bring you a bottle? Just don't take to much or you will get diarrhea. A lot of foods contain magnesium too. Getting ready to do a post on magnesium rich foods. Three things right off the bat I know of is cacao, spinach and bananas...also white beans. Bananas contain a lot of fructose so be careful with eating too many of them.

Thank you for your input @thethreehugs
I'll see if I would be needing milk of magnesia.

You are most welcome. I think you will find adding magnesium to your diet will expedite your healing process!

You may want to read this post and watch the video. It will explain!

https://steemit.com/health/@thethreehugs/the-truth-about-magnesium-and-copper-food-industry-secrets-thomas-delauer

Just did some research..milk of magnesium is an antacid and could possible deplete the magnesium in your body..so do not take! Just did a post..so please take the time to read and watch videos!!

We wish you speedy and speedy recovery, God willing
O Lord of the worlds, heal all the sick with your mercy, God

Don't worry dear. Allah help you.

Dialysis is tough. I used to work with an older Russian patient who had to go three times a week. I hope someday, Mankind will be absolved from all of these illnesses and afflictions.

You seem to be getting better though. With every post i feel you are improving mentally and physically. Keep fighting.

Hey forget the milk of magnesium. Just did some research and since it is an antacid, it will possible deplete the magnesium in your system!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66