Dear Diary: I Could Not Eat Much Today Because Of My Breathlessness As Foods Really Are Toxic For Dialysis Patients

in #untalented7 years ago

P_20171223_090929_BF.jpg

What confronts a dialysis patient like me is the effects of food and sometimes water unto our bodies. WE just are basically poisoned bit by bit until we would show the signs of toxicity like nausea, vomiting, and being crazy as in you will be "out of it" until you get adequately dialyzed. I had even a friend that had been given some anti-psychotic medications because he was acting crazy due to the raised creatinine in his blood.

A normal person only has about .02 to about .75 creatinine reading on their blood but a dialysis patient can have as high as 16 which will really make them feel ill and toxic, they will also begin to show the signs of psychotic or weird behaviors. As for my experience, I had the thoughts of believing something that I will just say or doing stuffs that is quite irrational coupled with some uneasiness which if seen from you by other people will believe that you are funny or just crazy for that matter.

I had been mocked quite a bit by other people because I had been toxic due to suffering a mediocre dialysis before. But now currently I believe that I needed an extra dialysis session because for one thing it is ideal to have three times per week of dialysis but due to financial constraints I could only afford two times and that is largely covered by my insurance.

But I needed an extra dialysis session because I am easy to get filled with water in my body and I get this long standing problem of breathlessness. They couldn't take much water from my body because I get hypotensioned during my dialysis. The problem was made worst by my compressed lungs due to my backbone collapsing and thereby squeezing my organs and lungs in the process.

So if you think that I really enjoy food and eating, I really don't because it gives me toxicity in my blood, it gives me side-effects of food especially from the protein and when I had much of it I develop urea-smelling breath and nausea. That is why I couldn't eat anymore near my dialysis day and it is hard and it had been like that for so many years now. That is also why I am thinking of having a kidney transplant so that I could enjoy the feeling of being normal person which I earnestly believe is also a heaven on earth for me if I would realize that for myself.

Sort:  

You have some smarts on how the body works. I'll leave it to you as there is no better person to know how one feels than than the person doing the feeling. Merry Christmas to you and yours my friend! I wish you well.....

@cryptopie, low bow to you, buddy.
Other people are whining and complaining things and circumstances in their life whilst you're hear spending your time wisely and make money of your own.

My heart and prayers go with you. Stay strong. You inspire lots of people. Followed you already. See you around steemit! :) ❤

And happy holiday, dear. :)

What kind of dialysis are you on? HemoDialysis or Peritoneal Dialysis? I suspect you are doing Hemo and so then I start thinking your breathlessness may be happening because they are under dialysing you. Not taking enough water out of your system. How many times a week do you get dialysed?

You may need to be dialysed at a higher number of liters. My friend Myrna was being dialyzed at 4 liters. She moved to a different state and they changed that to 2 liters and she had a problem with breathlessness. They took out less water. That turned into congestive heart failure. Water puts pressure on the heart and lungs as well as other organs in the body, pressurizing them. Dialysis changes all that if you are being dialysed deep enough.

Myrna changed over to Peritoneal Dialysis (PD) and did her treatments at night while she slept. PD is much easier on the body. PD does not destroy Red Blood Cells. With PD you are able to keep your fluid levels at a more consistent level. With PD you don't have problems with Low Blood Pressure and Passing Out because you are able to keep your fluid levels at a more consistent level.

Want to talk more about ESRD with me?

We tried to take more water from my body but I get hypotensioned @drbill
I can't take much water unlike before because my backbone deformity had pressed my organs including my lungs so I can't load up much on water and I get breathless so easily.

This is why I suggest Peritoneal Dialysis you do every night while you sleep. It is a lot less damaging to the body. The dialysis is done first by choosing the level of the dialysing. There are 4 strength solutions you can use. 1) yellow is the weakest and takes out the least amount of water. 2) Green is the next highest and takes out more water. 3) RED is pretty heavy and finally 4) PURPLE is full strength and takes out the most water.

I believe you will be using the Yellow solution to not take out so much water and the toxic parts will be dialyzed out to an acceptable level.

Going by your blood pressure you can decide what strength to use. This system is done while you sleep and you control the amount of water to take out. The Toxic parts are removed during the 8 hour process. You don't become light headed and faint, your red blood cells are left intact so unless another problem comes up you don't need blood transfusions.

The process is based on Osmosis. Talk to your Renal Doctor or dialysis unit about it they can tell you all about it and show you the equipment. You don't buy the equipment it is part of your prescription basically on loan to you. It gets replaced if it breaks down.

Believe me it is the next best thing to having a transplant, you will live longer and feel better everyday while you are waiting for a kidney. Really is an amazing process and rather easy to learn and do. Try it you'll like it I Promise.

Also, if you get really fired up about PD then here is another little known fact...The machine can be powered by a single 100 Watt Solar Panel and 2 deep cycle batteries. If you get full sun for 10 hours a day or there about you will have enough power to run the system that only uses 450 Watts all night long. I know. I did that too for Myrna.

Thank you @drbill for your concern.
As you can see I cannot add much water into my body cavity because it will just squeeze my lungs even further because of my collapsed backbone. But I do like peritoneal dialysis if only I can move normally. I cannot even look down because my chin and my neck just had sunk down already too.

It is amazing how much the head is attached to the body. it is also problematic. Hope you get to equilibrium as soon as possible.

If you think that a kidney transplant is good then you should do it. :) Have a nice day

Its disheartening to know that despite so much advancements in medical technology, the dialysis process is still not sufficient for kidney patients. Like you yourself said, a kidney transplant would be a much better solution for you.

Oh no. It is sufficient if the clinic dialyses the patient deep enough. HemoDialysis is only one way. A better way is through Peritoneal Dialysis because it is more consistent than HemoDialysis.
Kidneys for transplant are hard to find due to matching difficulties and distances between patients and donors.

As you mentioned that you are going to think of having a kidney transplant so that you could enjoy the feeling of being normal person which you earnestly believe is also a heaven on earth for you if you would realize that for yourself..according to my point of view you are going to take the right decision.please go ahead hopefuly will be success.thanks @ cryptopie

God bless you my dear friend. Get well soon.

Reading about your story reminds me so much of my mother. You had the same complaints. I pray so much you overcome everything life throw at you. Never mind those who mock you. It will not do you good. God bless

I am sorry to hear, It seams like when you get a good day the next one is bad. I hope you have a good Christmas though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58