Dear Diary: My Medical Update, Consultation With My Doctor Gives Me The News Of No Surgery But That Is Okay

in #untalented-mama7 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20171204-084248_1.jpg

Dr. Sheryl Tugna my Endocrinologist

Today as me and my parents scoot off to the clinic of my doctor for our 8:00AM appointment at around 6:00 AM so we could get into the first number in the queue for my consultation to Dr. Sheryl Tugna. So seeing me again after more than a month. I was given the realization that our trip for Manila will not target for my surgery of any kind but it will only be done for diagnostic purposes of my condition. There was no clear schedule on when it would get done because of many processes that have to be accomplished so now I will just put on that aside because nothing much on that issue will benefit me much.

P_20171204_080218_1.jpg

I also asked my good doctor if it was possible for me to get a parathyroidectomy. I am expecting her answer to what I am just thinking about and I was right, I could never get my parathyroidectomy because of the reasons such as the curvature of my back because the surgeons would try to really quite bend my neck back plus the growth inside my mouth could pose a problem when they try to put instruments inside my airways and such. Also, trying to get clearance for my heart will make me have to consult teams of doctors. So again, the hope for a surgery because of those comorbidities made me lose hope for a possible parathyroidectomy.

Screenshot_20171204-084330_1_1.jpg

After showing my doctor my mouth

Screenshot_20171204-084618_1.jpg

My Mother

My doctor told me that even though I won't get the parathyroidectomy, it will be just like I am getting one because my cinacalcet acts to disable my parathyroid to the extent that it makes my system balanced again because it is not getting my parathyroid pump unlike before as revealed by my normal phosphorus levels. But she saw my low blood calcium results and I was given a prescription of an additional Calcium intake.

P_20171204_094311_SRES.jpg

The Prescription of Calcium Carbonate with Vit D, Cinacalcet, and Appetite stimulant

I also told my complaint about that nasty appetite suppressant effect of my Cinacalcet to my doctor and asked for an appetite stimulant to counter it. And so I was given a prescription of buclizine which will make my appetite better from now on. The bitter taste in my mouth I will just have to live with all the way, it's not that bad anyway and I will just have to look at the better results of my Cinacalcet intake.

After a month from now again, I will have to be tested again of an "Intact PTH"test to reveal the function of my parathyroid to see if it functions down to its normal levels. I do suspect that it is now normal in function because of my phosphorus and calcium test results. But this laboratory test will clearly show it.

P_20171204_094045_SRES.jpg

The Intact PTH laboratory request for the month of January

I am fine with the way things had come and also realized that not all things are possible in my situation where the underlying condition like being a dialysis patient with an established deformity and financial constraints will just make things harder than it looks but I am happy and contented nonetheless that at least I am being treated with good results and more importantly I have the support of the steemit community, a social media of friends that care.

Sort:  

I am glad that you are choosing to see the good things, @cryptopie. I do hope to see you very soon. Much love from my family to yours. ❤

Thanks Ate @dandalion
I am in quite in a better position than in my copatients for this same condition the way I see it and I thank God for all of it.

May Allah bless you. Get well soon.

very important topic ,,alredy resteemed this post.
thanks for sharing friend,,,

I'm so glad to hear. You win the battle of life.

I vote every day, keep in mind that you have to vote

WIll you healthy now?

Your doctor looks so young.

Maybe a bit older than me, she is just beautiful for me too.

I wish you are good to be healthy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45