Amazing Adjustments That Have Happened To My Life Since I Found Steemit.

26653562_10214915181739437_207896102_o.jpg

Day 5/365. How are we all doing? Still catching up with post holiday duties I suppose. Putting down Christmas decors, sending thank you notes, cleaning out the fridge for leftovers? Most have been done on my end.

Here's why.

If you have been following our blog you should know that I left my job sometime in October. I didn't know then whether I'd look for another one or if me being at home will be fine. John is earning above the average minimum pay here in the Philippines and although people say we can get by, I was just a little worried.

I looked for opportunities to work from home. Being in the corporate for sometime, surrounded by people made it feel sad though. Yet, I no longer wanna be confined in a four walled cubicle. I felt traumatized with the stress I had over the years.

SAHM working-mom-vs-stay-at-home-mom.jpg
image source

The adjustment went a little hard because now I had more spare time. In between chores at home and doing online work, I would check on social media and would see the people I used to work with post pictures of how they are. I stayed away from Facebook and avoided messages. I downloaded games and entertaining apps to steer away from social media. I became unproductive.

When I finally accepted that this is my new life, free from nagging bosses, from deadlines and meetings, I went back to social media and shared from time to time what I have been up to. But then I realized that platform I went back to was just full of gossips, fake news, trolls and negativity. If not for my family and relatives abroad who are keeping themselves updated with how my kids are, I would have not gone back.

One day, John came home and told me about his approval on Steemit. I didn't know what was it. So he kinda walked me a little through it. Published our first article and from then on, it was just Steemit everyday. Like we would think in advance of what we should write, how our content would be like. Steemit is (as far as I know) a social media platform too, but this one is different. Because, you have to think of good things to write. No-no for gossips, no-no to talking about other people, NO-NO to negativity.

Despite so many bad things that happened from the time we joined Steemit, only the happy ones made a mark because we had to focus on them. Because we thought it's good to write about and share to other people.

stay.at_.home_.mom_.jpg
image source

While other social media platforms are full of negativity, Steemit is full of people with words of encouragement. And for the first time in my life, I have been able to write something that's actually published and read by people. Something I've always wanted to do since I was little but never really got to because somewhere along the way, the path have been steered away for me from taking Journalism.

I know my mother would have been proud of me, if she were still here. And so I thank Steemit for being the avenue where I can share my thoughts and to @surpassinggoogle for coming up with #untalented-adjustments

Happy new year, everyone and thanks for reading!

Love,
Jonah (and John)

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beatenegg to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I love Steemit to, it's just a joy to come on every day. Happy New year @beatenegg

And it's rewarding too!

Ayun thinking of steemit lol. Love your work

Jay's idea! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66