You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LIVING IS LEARNING: Amazing Unschooled Babies Learn to Walk & Talk .... and more!

in #unschooling7 years ago

Wow I really do applaud you on your stance. I agree that the most worthwhile things you can learn do not come from a formal education, they are things that you can learn on your own accord, either through necessity or through a passion.

I did the whole formal education thing right to university and there is no way I would force my kids into it. The social aspect is fantastic but the lecturing is less than useless and does not provide you with the skills you need for the working environment.

I don't think we could unschool our kids in this country without getting into some serious trouble, you can home school but I believe you have to show the curriculum that you are working through.

Sort:  

What country are you in?
Some parents do unschool but get creative about their reporting.
Basically you have to write down what your child has done for the day, and find a creative way to make it fit into the Learning Outcomes.
So if your child played with frogs that day at the swamp, you turn it into how they learned about amphibians and their habitat, and figure out how to check off some of the science outcomes that are expected of you.
The natural learning can usually fit most of the required categories if you are creative.

But you will probably have to do a few planned out lessons to fill in the missing gaps.

I am VERY fortunate where I am, because I have the choice of requesting a teacher to oversee us, where I would have to meet provincial learning outcomes (albeit in a creative way without curriculum) OR ... I can simply register that my child will be learning at home and I alone am responsible for giving them an education that I deem appropriate. So I can truly unschool without the headaches of reporting and trying to fit my child into any sort of a box.

I feel this is ridiculous and I think it's sad that one must report everything and conform to their imposed culture of authority. It is We the people who should be supervising and asking questions to politicians, not the other way around. We the people Should have Freedom to the point where a report would look like "What has your child done for the day" And you respond "Freedom." It enrages me that these harmless creatures blessed with innocence and purity must be questioned to why they are not attending the institutions that would turn them into slaves of authority and enforcers of the crimes that are committed on a daily basis by authority (War). If they were not concerned with brainwashing everyone into this culture of authoritative crime, they would not have any reason to question your freedom and the freedom of your child.

Yes.
I am definitely using the educational freedom that I have in my province, because it is RARE in Canada or the world.
Our province allows us to educate our children how we wish without reporting to anyone other than a simple registration each year.

I completely agree, specifically with the 'slaves of authority'. However it is sad to say that some peoples circumstances don't permit home-schooling/un-schooling. So if we do have to send our children to school we need to be extra mindful that we teach them the truth or more importantly how they can work the truth out for themselves. I think we need to teach our children to 'Question More' and not just believe the fallacies that institutions/people of power preach.

An example, this is the most disgusting piece of homework I have ever seen and if my child were given it I would have been straight down the school to tell them whats what. But it would have at least started a dialogue between yourself and your child, about not only world politics but the importance of self-education and to not mindlessly believe everything we are given.

palestinian-terrorist-coursework-primary-school.jpg

We currently live in Scotland and upon reading your response I wanted to do a little research and find out the legalities. It appears that it is nowhere near as strict as I thought. I don't know where I have got this misconception from but I guess it is just drummed into you from a young age, that your kids must attend school. Oh no have I turned into a sheeple? Lol.

My kid has just finished his first year of primary and I think the best thing he has accomplished is his social confidence. He has really come out of his shell and actually loves going to school to see his friends. Most of the other parents are worried about their reading and writing levels and why they haven't brought the next level reading material home yet. I think my son has learnt to read more in the summer holidays watching and navigating YouTube videos, on the rainy days of course, than he has in the whole of his first year at primary.

His extra curricular activities definitely teach him a significant amount, but now we have started with school I don't know if I could take him out because of his fondness towards it (actually towards spending time with his friends).

Now that you have enlightened me my opinion may change when he reaches secondary school level because in my opinion that is when you are taught things that are less than useless in everyday life.

Why are we taught trigonometry but not taught how to grow our own crops, or find water (in Scotland this one isn't too difficult, lol) or make a fire?

My wife was talking about an alternative private high school she read about in the Highlands where they actually teach you useful life skills. I wonder why there can't be more state schools like this?

I love your question "Why are we taught trigonometry but not to grow our own crops or find water or make fire."I wish more people asked this question

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65