Unschooling Tidbit #3steemCreated with Sketch.

in #unschooling7 years ago (edited)

Children are the most amazing little souls! Even when you think they haven't learned much about something, you would be surprised at how much they've actually soaked up! They just need the right guidance, in order to put it in practice.

My 3 year old son has never attempted to write letters...he knows them all very well, he even knows their sounds, but for some reason he would never write them. I wanted to help encourage his writing, so I got him a pre K workbook. It's huge! I've been getting him to do the tracing activities, which he's been doing good with, but only the straight lines. He wouldn't even try a curved one. Today, I decided to give him the book and markers, and just let him do with it what he wanted. I then went to change my baby, and came back to find that this is what he's done in such a short time!

IMG_20171016_222531.jpg

He decided that he wanted to open the very last page of the book and trace every letter of the alphabet, on his own terms, of his own free will. He did it the moment I stopped pushing him to do it for me, and allowed him to do it for him, only if he wanted to. I'm so proud of him!

Every child is unique, they all have different learning styles. I should have known to try letting him learn the way I do; independently. When I first learned how to drive, I wasn't very confident or good at it. For nearly a year I drove with my dad, who was nervous and jumpy, which didn't help. The first day I drove alone, I instantly gained confidence and became a much better driver.

Instead of pushing children to learn what they aren't quite "getting", let them do it themselves when they're ready! Or at least step away and don't oversee the activity. Let it be alright that they don't get it yet, and you might very well be just as pleasantly surprised as I was!

Check out the rest of my Unschooling Tidbits!

Tidbit #1
Tidbit #2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54