You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Don't Like (or use) Rewards and Punishments - Unschooling

in #unschooling6 years ago

It's still a debatable subject to me. Whatever we do, there might be consequences and it's hard to put balance sometimes. Some say parents are the first person to introduce bribery. If kids learned about impulse, then they can learn to manipulate you. They will do good just to please you.

Sort:  

It's also a fine line to say, what is bribery, versus what's just mutual compromise and cooperation among family members?

Artificial consequences that we make up for others are very different from natural cause-and-effect.

My goal is to not have an adversarial relationship with my kids where I have to "police them" into "good behavior". I want to invite them to participate in our cooperatively created daily life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69067.71
ETH 3754.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72