Unschooling Blog, Vol. 39: Polishing Rice and Making Some Crypto.

in #unschooling7 years ago (edited)

Today my son and I went out to polish a big 30 kg bag of genmai (unpolished rice/brown rice), and I offered to pay him part of the rewards for this post for his help.

8ABD238A-C5C1-401F-82AC-6E841F10D2FB.jpeg

To polish genmai here in Japan, one simply goes down the road to the closest rice polishing shack (not sure what else to call them), pays a few hundred yen, and dumps the rice into a pretty neat little machine.

6C54CEC7-5CC4-410F-BCEB-2B03E1FC1587.jpeg

You can choose just how polished you want the finished product, with options ranging from brown/roughly polished, to an actually translucent white.

6939C051-3F9F-4566-A8BD-50E626EAE252.jpeg

We put in our money, selected our desired settings, and went to town polishing our hefty bag of genmai.

85A64CFB-52FD-405B-B3B5-9B1FF304E41D.jpeg

Check the video just below to see how it’s done, and be sure to upvote and resteem to make Isaiah’s crypto wallet that much fatter!!! ;)

Thanks for stopping by!


(If you missed the last Unschooling Blog, Vol. 38: “Exposing the Kult: A Spontaneous Bit of Fun,” you can find that HERE. Thanks for stopping by!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I love Japan, they've got a machine for everything!
Never heard of this one though, I just buy it ready to go 😃

They really do. Even the toilets are relatively high-tech, automated feats of engineering.

Wow, it is amazing to read how different cultures prepare their foods. I love cooking rice, as there are so many ways to make a meal with it. Never really thought about the way rice is prepped. Thank you for sharing your culture.

in my parents homtown pakistan we mostly use unpolish rice of our own farms and mostly when we use polish rice we feel a different taste but i like unpolish rice @kafkanarchy84 also ur son look cute he packed with warm wears in winter becarfull any time about him to go with outside home

Thanks for your kind words. Yes, I also like brown rice. My son really likes the polished rice, though. Actually unpolished is much healthier! :)

nice post and well done guys, honestly i never saw such rice cleaner machine before and today cutesy to your post i able to watch it and we don't have such machines in our country, if we want to clean the rice then we have to do it with our hands, Isaiah did a wonderful job to press the machine paddle very confidently, Stay awesome my friend and thanks for sharing.

Thanks buddy. Blessings to you and your family.

Wow great father and also a very smart son. He accompany you with the work like a responsible adult. Great, morning shows the day, one day your son will be a hero to the people. Blessings and lots of love to the cute hero. Thanks.

Thanks, @maya7!!! He’s my hero now, so maybe he will be as you say as he grows into manhood. Blessings to you as well.

Your son is a little cutie kafka clone. Can he Japanese some by the way?

Haha. Thanks. Yep he was born here (his mom is Japanese) so he’s a native speaker. He teaches me, actually :)

That's so cool, I want the same for my kid. Thai language as you know :p. You should make a video of him teaching you, hehe. Homeschooling dad volume 1.

Wish we had a Rice machine in Bulgaria :3

Thanks for sharing something interesting. Its always a blast to see strange stuff from different countries <3

Yep. Japan has a machine for everything. I am also interested in learning about daily life in Bulgaria!

I've never used one of these. Interesting. We have a local farmer who gives us a bag of brown rice every few weeks and we eat it that way. I'll have to keep my eyes peeled for machines like that around here.

Yeah man, they’re everywhere, by I never used to notice them until I started using ‘em.

Your son is educated in the right way and at the right time

Rice polishing machine, that's new for me. It seems it's indeed true that in Japan there is a vending machine(well, kind of) for everything. :D

Also, your son now can say he gets his "salary" in crypto.

There really is. Thanks, @cryptosenpai.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55